Menu Close

California Uninsured & Underinsured Accident Claims

California Uninsured “UM”/ Underinsured UIM Claims

California law requires all drivers to purchase insurance that offers minimum liability amount of $15,000 of bodily injury coverage per person up to a maximum of $30,000 if two or more people are injured. In addition, drivers must also carry a minimum of $5,000 for property damage coverage. Often times, if you are injured in an auto accident, the driver at fault may only have the state minimum, while your damages may be far more. For instance, if your total medical bills were over $15,000 and the at fault party only have $15,000, you may not be able to recover for damages for pain and suffering.

Uninsured Motorist “UM” and Underinsured Motorist “UIM” Coverage

Luckily, if your insurance policy also contains Uninsured Motorist “UM” and Underinsured Motorist “UIM”¬† coverage, you may be able to file a claim under your UIM coverage.¬†Underinsured motorist coverage will be able to provide a limited amount of coverage for injuries sustained by you and your passengers. This occurs when you are involved in an accident with another motorist who does not have enough insurance to pay for your injuries.

Unfortunately, often times insurance companies use various tactics to try to avoid paying claims that are filed by their own insureds. Thus, it is very important to seek advise from an experienced Glendale personal injury lawyer as soon as possible to help preserve your claim. On the other hand, if you feel that your insurance company is wrongfully denying your claim, it is vital you seek advise for a personal injury attorney that has experience in handling first party insurance bad faith claims.

Why is the Insurance Adjuster Denying my UM/UIM Claim?

There are several scenarios how insurance adjusters try to deny and or devalue your UM and UIM claim. Some of these examples include the following:

  • Insurance adjuster may try to reduce the value of your claim by denying the cost of future medical care
  • Insurance company may try arguing that your injuries are the result of a pre-existing medical conditions, rather than the accident
  • Insurance company may try to reduce the value of your claim by contending that the amount of medical treatment your received were not reasonably necessary and or the medical expenses are ‘too high’ for the type of accident that occurred
  • Insurance company may try and argue that your physical damages are the result of old age, rather than the accident
  • Insurance adjuster may try to devalue your damages with regards to general damages for your physical pain
  • The insurance adjuster may try to devalue your damages with regards to emotional distress and disruption of lifestyle

Get Legal Help for Your Uninsured or Underinsured Accident Claim in California!

Get help from an experienced personal injury attorney following an accident in California with an uninsured or underinsured motorist. Our personal injury attorney at KAASS Law team for a free no obligation consultation, we are available 24/7. We also provide 24/7 accident assistance, call now at (310) 943-1171.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback:California Uber/Lyft Accident Claims | KAASS LAW

Comments are closed.

Call Now
Text Message