Menu Close

Update: California Cell Phone Kill Switch Law

Uber Accident Lawyer Glendale

Governor Jerry Brown signed the “kill switch” bill on Monday, August 25, 2014. This bill will require that all smartphones come with a feature that will completely “kill” the phone, rendering it unusable, if it is lost or stolen.

State Senator Mark Leno introduced the bill in response to the growing number of cell phone thefts in the state. “California has just put smartphone thieves on notice,” stated Leno on Monday.

This law will go into effect on July 1, 2015. Any retailer who knowingly sells a smartphone without the “kill switch” feature will be subject to a penalty of $500-$2,500. The law applies to all smartphones, but does not apply to other devices.

Call Now