California Penal Code 135 makes it is illegal to willfully and knowingly destroy or conceal any form of evidence that is to be used in a trial or government investigation.
Does Destroying Evidence Apply to Civil and Criminal Cases?
Destroying evidence is prohibited in both civil and criminal cases, including contract dispute litigation or divorce. As noted above this charge applies to evidence which is used in trial or government investigation.
What Must Be Proved To Be Convicted of California Penal Code 135 PC?
In order for a defendant to be convicted of Penal Code 135 PC destroying or concealing evidence the prosecutor must be able to prove the following elements:
Defendant willfully and knowingly destroyed or concealed any type of evidence
Defendant knew or should have known that he destroyed or concealed evidence which is the subject of a legal proceeding, such as:
Criminal trial
Parole hearing
Civil trial
Criminal investigation
Police investigation
You Can't Be Convicted Under Penal Code 135 PC If:
In case the defendant destroyed the evidence when no legal investigation or trial was in process, and later it turned out that the destroyed thing could be used as an evidence in an investigation process that began later he can’t be convicted under Penal Code 135 PC.
Common Examples of Evidence that is Intentionally Destroyed in Penal Code 135 PC Cases
A person can be convicted for Penal Code 135 PC intentionally destroying almost any type of evidence such as
Drug(s) or drug paraphernalia
Weapon(s)
Document(s), record(s), or Instrument in writing
Object(s)
Clothe(s)
Video recording(s) or digital image(s)
Can Defendant Be Convicted For Penal Code 135 PC If There Was only an Attempt to Destroy or Conceal?
It is important to mention that destroying or concealing evidence is not like other California crimes where a person can be charged for attempting to commit a crime. In order to be convicted under California Penal Code Section 135, defendant must have been successful at destroying or concealing the evidence. An unsuccessful attempt to destroy or conceal evidence in California will not lead to a conviction.
Defenses to Penal Code 135 Destroying or Concealing Evidence
There are several common legal defenses for CA Penal Code 135 which including some of the following:
Person didn’t know that the evidence was in a criminal investigation or prosecution
In case defendant wasn’t aware that there was an active criminal investigation when he destroyed or concealed the item of the question, he cannot be convicted of this crime.
Person didn’t intentionally destroy or conceal the evidence
In case the evidence was destroyed or concealed accidently and the defendant didn’t act consciously he should not be convicted of this crime.
Evidence was not actually destroyed nor concealed
In case the evidence survived destruction or it was possible to restore it, then the defendant cannot be convicted of concealing or destroying evidence.
Penalties for California Penal Code 135 PC
Penalties for Penal Code 135 destroying or concealing evidence is a misdemeanor in California Law. The penalties are the following:
Up to six months in county jail and/or,
A fine of up $1,000
The penalties can be leveled in conjunction with penalties for any other crime defendant is accused of. Additionally defendant usually faces to other penalties, such as a 3 year probation period, community service, restitution, civil lawsuits, negative professional licensing consequences, immigration consequences and more.
California Penal Code 135 PC Defense Lawyer
Hire the most dedicated Glendale criminal defense lawyer who has experience with Penal Code 135 PC cases. You can rely on our experienced California Penal Code 135 PC defense Lawyer to carefully analyze the facts of your case to prove the facts necessary. We back all of our clients and we invite you to give us a toll free call at (310) 943-1171 to speak to our experienced attorney today. Get in touch with us at KAASS LAW, 815 E Colorado St #220, Glendale, CA 91205, (310) 943-1171.
According to California Penal Code Section 459, auto burglary is breaking into a locked automobile or any other vehicle or its trunk with intent to steal the vehicle, steal property from the vehicle or commit a felony inside it.
To Be Convicted of Auto Burglary Prosecution Must Prove
The prosecution must prove the following element for convicting a person in auto burglary:
Defendant entered a locked vehicle, and
Defendant entered the vehicle with intent to commit a felony or the crime of theft.
California Vehicle Code Section 670
According to California Vehicle Code Section 670, a vehicle is defined as a device by which any person or property may be propelled, moved, or drawn upon a highway, except a device moved exclusively by human power or used exclusively upon stationary rails or tracks.
California Penal Code Section 261 defines the crime of "rape" as sexual intercourse that is nonconsensual, because it’s achieved by means of threat, force or fraud threats. The following facts must be established in order to prove that the defendant is guilty of rape:
There existed sexual intercourse between the supposed defendant and the victim. Sexual intercourse occurs immediately when the penis penetrates the vagina, regardless of how slight the penetration is or whether no ejaculation occurred;
That the victim was not a spouse to the defendant at the time of intercourse. Evidence that the victim is currently married or is a former spouse to someone else does not add to the prosecutor’s proof;
The supposed victim was underage during the intercourse.
There was Sexual Intercourse Between the Defendant and the Victim
Sexual intercourse for rape purposes is any penetration regardless of how slight it’s. The sexual intercourse can be either against the person's will, or without that person's consent. In the case of rape intercourse is defined very broadly. Even if the defendant initiated sexual act with someone against their will and after that regretted and terminated the act that still considers as rape.
California Penal Code Section 240 (PC 240) defines assault as an attempt to commit a violent injury on someone else.
Assault is usually discussed in connection with the battery, though they are two different offenses. Penal Code 242 battery is different from an assault as it requires that the defendant actually use force or violence against someone else.
What Is the Prosecution Required to Prove to Convict Defendant of Penal Code 240 Assault?
To be convicted of assault the prosecution must prove the following elements:
Defendant committed an act that directly and probably would result in the application of force against another person;
Defendant did so intentionally and willfully;
When committing the act the defendant had facts that would make a reasonable person realize the act would result in applying force to someone;
When committing the act the defendant had actual ability to apply force to another person
"Application of Force" in California Criminal Assault Charge
Application of force is any harmful or offensive touching. The touching doesn’t need to cause an injury or to be done directly. The slightest touching will be considered enough if it is done in a rude or offensive manner.
Receiving stolen property is charged under California Penal Code Section 496(a) making it a crime to buy, receive, conceal or sell the property knowing it was stolen or obtained by extortion. Additionally, it is also illegal to aid another person in concealing or withholding the property knowing it was unlawfully obtained.
Elements Prosecution Must Prove to Convict on Receiving Stolen Property Charges?
The elements the prosecution must prove to convict defendant for receiving stolen property under California Penal Code Section 496(a) include the following:
Defendant bought, sold, received, concealed or withheld from the owner (or assisted another person in these acts) such property that had been stolen or obtained by extortion
Defendant was aware that the property had been obtained by extortion or stolen
Defendant actually knew the property was in his possession
“Receiving” Property Under Penal Code Section 496
Under California Penal Code Section 496, “receiving” property means acquiring possession and control of the property. For purposes of Penal Code, more than one person can have possession of the stolen property. “Receiving” property doesn’t require physical possession over it; having control of the property even it is not in your immediate possession is enough.
According to California Penal Code Section 602 trespassing is entering or remaining on the property of another person without a right or permission to do so.
What Elements Need to Be Proved to Be Convicted of California Criminal Trespass?
There are various types of trespassing under California law and each of them has specific elements of the crime, but here are some basic elements that are common for most forms of California trespass. So, prosecutor must be able to establish the following element in order to prove that a defendant is guilty of trespassing:
Defendant intentionally entered or remained on the property of another person without owners consent
Defendant did so with the specific intent of interfering with the another person’s property rights
Defendant actually interfered with that person's property rights
Common Examples of Violating California’s Criminal Trespass Laws
Entering another person’s property to interfere with business.
Vandalism Penal Code Section 594a (PC 594a) in California
Under California Vandalism Penal Code Section 594(a) it is prohibited to maliciously deface, damage, or destroy someone else's property.
In order to prove the commitment of vandalism, a prosecutor must prove the following elements:
Defendant maliciously damaged, destroyed or defaced public or personal property with graffiti or inscribed material.
Defendant was not owner of the property and didn’t have the owner's consent
California Penal Code Section 594 Applies to Personal and Public Property
California Penal Code Section 594 applies both to public and personal property that you own jointly with someone else. So you are not allowed to damage, destroy or deface public property, property owned by another individual or even property that you own jointly with another person.
What are Common Forms of Vandalism in California?
There are many types of vandalism in California, but the most common are: graffiti (any unauthorized drawing or writing on property with any kind of tool), slashing tires or damaging car paint, damaging mailboxes, breaking windows, damaging telephone wires or other public works equipment.
Oftentimes, when we think of the relationship between an attorney and their client, we simply assume that there are little to no complications as the relationship ought to be fairly straightforward. It is a professional relationship that confers with it a certain amount of trust and loyalty.
California Attorney-Client Relationship
In other words, the client and the lawyer have entered into an understanding in which they have agreed to work together for a particular dispute, issue, or case.
As a result of this agreement, whatever is in the client’s best interest becomes the lawyer’s objective responsibility to determine, advise, and inform throughout the entirety of their client-lawyer relationship.
Can a California Lawyers Represents Two Clients at Same Time With Opposing Interests?
Since the client’s best interest becomes the lawyer’s responsibility, it is that lawyer’s legal duty to do everything in their power to help the client.
As such, it makes sense that a lawyer cannot have two clients at the same time whose interests are not aligned. In other words, there cannot be a conflict of interest between the clients that the lawyer represents, otherwise there may be a high chance that the lawyer will not be able to fulfill their loyalties and legal duties to those clients.
When a gym member experiences an injury at a gym or a fitness center as a result of an unreasonably dangerous condition or some other negligence, he may be able to sue the gym for caused injuries and recover money damages suffered from the gym related injury.
Before filing a personal injury lawsuit several important issues must be considered:
The type of injury the victim has suffered;
Whether or not the gym membership contract contained a release of liability waiver; and
Whether the negligent actions of gym owners and staff led to the damages.
In California Can a Gym Be Held Liable for Injury Suffered by its Member or Patrons?
Gym can be liable if the injury is proven to be causes by the facility’s fault. This can be due to construction hazards, faulty equipment, or improper maintenance procedures. The gym has a certain degree of responsibility to ensure the members well being.
Some specific situations or examples when an injured person may sue the gym and seek compensation include:
California Penal Code Sections 451 and 452 address the crime of arson. It is illegal to willfully, maliciously or recklessly burn a property, forest, a piece of land or a structure, or to assist another in committing the same act. A person can also be charged with arson if he set fire at own property in an attempt to commit insurance fraud.
California Penal Code 451 Malicious Arson
The prosecutor must prove the following element to charge a person under California Penal Code Section 451 “malicious arson”
Defendant set fire to or burned a property, forest, a piece of land or a structure ( it is not necessary to destroy or damage the entire object, damaging even a small part is enough)
Defendant did so maliciously and willfully
California Penal Code 452 Reckless Arson
The prosecutor must prove the following element to charge a person under California Penal Code Section 451 “reckless arson”
Defendant set fire to or burned a property, forest, a piece of land or a structure
In auto burglary cases, the most common forms of vehicles include cars, trucks, or motorcycles.
California Penal Code Section 459 Breaking and Entering
California Penal Code Section 459 clearly states that the doors of the vehicle must be locked, meaning that a person must get inside to be convicted of auto burglary.
Here are some actions that can be considered as breaking in a locked vehicle: smashing the window, using a tool to get inside a trunk, reaching into an open window to open the door. You are considered to have “entered” a vehicle in case any part of your body or any object goes inside of it. This means that you don’t have to actually open the door and place your whole body inside the vehicle for committing auto burglary.
Legal Defenses to California Auto Burglary Under Penal Code 459
There are many common defenses to an auto burglary charge include the following legal defenses.
The Vehicle Wasn't Locked
One of the most common defenses to an auto burglary charge is to argue that the doors or the trunk of the vehicle weren't locked and there was no forced entry. Without proving this important element, a person can’t be convicted of auto burglary.
Lack of Intent
One of the main elements of auto burglary is intent to commit a California felony or theft. If a person simply entered someone else's locked vehicle with no intent to steal or commit another kind of felony he can’t be convicted of auto burglary crime.
Penalties for Auto Burglary Penal Code 459
Under California law auto burglary is considered a form of second-degree burglary which is a wobbler and depending on the circumstances of the offense and defendant’s criminal history it can charged as either a misdemeanor or felony.
If the defendant is convicted of auto burglary as a misdemeanor, he can face up to one year in a county jail
If the defendant is convicted of auto burglary as a felony, he can face of sixteen months, two or three years in a county jail
Auto Burglary of Inhabited Trailer in California
In case the defendant breaks into an inhabited trailer with the intent to commit a theft or felony he may be committed to first-degree burglary with the punishment of two, four or six years in California state prison.
Get Help Defending Auto Burglary Charges from an Experienced Glendale Lawyer
Are you in need of legal assistance from an attorney for burglary charges in California? Dedicated Glendale criminal defense lawyers at KAASS Law are prepared to help you out! Get in touch with us now at (310) 943-1171 or fill out the contact form below.
[contact-form-7 id="5673" title="KAASS LAW Contact Form"]
The Victim Didn't Give Consent to The Sexual Intercourse
Consent is a positive cooperation in an act meaning that one acts freely and voluntarily. Consenting to sexual act means doing so willingly with realizing the nature of the sexual act. The prosecutor must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the victim did not give the consent to the sexual intercourse
The intercourse must be accomplished through one of the following: physical force; duress, menace; fear of bodily harm to the victim or someone else; fraud threat of future retaliation
The defendant and the victim weren’t married to each other at the time of rape;
Legal Defenses for Penal Code 261.5 PC Statutory Rape
A few legal defenses to California Penal Code 261.5 statutory rape include the following:
Reasonable Mistake as to Consent
The defendant cannot be found guilty of rape if he reasonably and honestly believed that the victim was a consensual and willing participant and gave the approval of sexual intercourse. In case the victim was asleep, unconscious, mentally disabled or intoxicated at the time of the sexual act, then this defense can’t be used.
Insufficient evidence
There may be no physical evidence to confirm the rape charges in case the victim doesn't seek medical care. Likewise, if there were no witnesses, the rape case may only be based on victim’s statements. In situations like this, the legal defense of insufficient evidence may be applicable. There are always difficulties with proving rape charges when the only evidence is the unconfirmed statements of the accuser.
False accusations
Very often, people are wrongly accused of sex crimes. Sometimes, one can accuse another of rape to exert revenge or purely out of jealousy. An individual can also falsely accuse the spouse in order to get a divorce or child custody.
Penalties for Rape Under Penal Code 261
Under California Law rape is considered a felony offense. Possible punishment for this crime:
Formal probation
Imprisonment the California State Prison for 3, 6 and 8 years
In case the victim sustains great bodily injury the defendant will face additional three to five years in prison. The punishment increases from 7 to 11 years if the victim is less than 18 years of age. If the victim is under 14, the imprisonment can increase from 9 to 13 years. In most California rape convictions the defendant will also be required to register as a sex offender for a lifetime pursuant.
Get Help Defending Rape Charges from an Aggressive California Lawyer
What are the Legal Defenses to Penal Code Section 240 Assault?
Legal defenses to Penal Code Section 240 Assault include the following:
Defendant did not have the actual ability to inflict force or violence on someone else
Defendant acted in self-defense or defense of others
Defendant did not act with required intent or willfully
Defendant was wrongfully accused
What are the Penalties for Penal Code 240 Assault?
Under California Penal Code Section 240 assault is considered a misdemeanor. The possible penalties include:
Up to six months sentence in a county jail; and/or
A maximum fine of to one thousand dollars
Assault and Related Offenses
There are various charges that fall under assault related offenses in California including the following criminal charges such as Penal Code Section 245(a)(1) assault with a deadly weapon.
California Penal Code Section 245(a)(1) Assault with a Deadly Weapon
Under Penal Code Section 245(a)(1) assault with a deadly weapon, known also as ADW, is assault committed by means of a deadly weapon or force likely to inflict great bodily injury.
To be convicted of assault with a deadly weapon the prosecution must prove the following elements
Defendant committed an act that directly and probably would result in the application of force against another person;
Defendant committed the act either with a deadly weapon or by means of force likely to produce great bodily injury
Defendant did so intentionally and willfully
When committing the act the defendant had facts that would make a reasonable person realize the act would result in applying force to someone;
When committing the act the defendant had actual ability to apply force with a deadly weapon or force likely to produce great bodily injury
What Is Considered a Deadly Weapon in California?
A “deadly weapon” is any instrument, object or weapon which use can likely produce death or great bodily injury (like a knife or a gun).
Penalties for Penal Code 245(a)(1)
Under California Penal Code 245(a)(1), assault with a deadly weapon is considered a wobbler, and depending on the specific circumstances it can be charged either as a misdemeanor or a felony. Prosecutor's decision about whether to charge ADW as a misdemeanor or a felony is based on several factors, such as:
The type of used instrument or weapon
The severity of the injury caused to the victim
The identity of the victim
Penalties for Misdemeanor Assault With Deadly Weapon
Penalties for misdemeanor assault with deadly weapon include the following:
Up to one year sentence in county jail; and/or
A fine of up to one thousand dollars
Penalties for Felony Assault Charges
Under Felony California Penal Code 245(a)(1), assault with a deadly weapon penalties include the following:
Two, three, or four, years in California state prison; and/or
A fine of up to ten thousand dollars
Penalties for ADW with a Firearm
If a deadly weapon was an ordinary firearm, then the above mentioned penalties still apply. However, the misdemeanor ADW with a firearm carries up to six months in county jail.
In case the used deadly weapon was a semiautomatic, then the defendant is sentenced to a prison term of three, six or nine years. In case the weapon was a machine gun or assault weapon, then the defendant will be subject to a prison term of four, eight, or twelve years.
California Penal Code Section 244 Assault With Caustic Chemicals
California Penal Code 244 Assault with caustic chemicals occurs whenever a person willfully and maliciously places or throws, or causes to be placed or thrown any caustic chemical, a corrosive substance, flammable substance or vitriol with the intention of injuring another person’s flesh or disfiguring the body.
In order to be convicted in assault with caustic chemicals the prosecution must prove every single of the above mentioned elements.
What Is Considered to Be a Caustic Chemical?
Under Penal Code section 244 a caustic chemical is any corrosive, flammable substance that can burn living tissue.
Kerosene, acid, gasoline, petroleum products, or flammable liquids with one hundred fifty degrees Fahrenheit or less are examples brought in Penal Code section 244.
Penalties for Penal Code Section 244
Assault with dangerous chemicals is considered a felony and penalties for a Penal code 244 convicts can include:
Two, three, or four years in California state prison; and/or
A fine of up to ten thousand dollars
Instead of prison, the defendant can be sentenced to felony probation and serve up to a year in county jail.
Get Help Defending Criminal Battery Charges from an Experienced Lawyer
Property is considered “stolen” if it is obtained by burglary, grand theft, robbery, larceny, embezzlement, or any other theft crime. Property is obtained by extortion in case it is acquired from another person with his consent, but that consent was obtained through the use of force or fear.
Legal Defenses For Penal Code Section 496 Receiving Stolen Property
Person Didn’t Know That the Property Was Stolen
As one of the essential elements of the offense, the prosecutor must prove that the defendant knew that the property was unlawfully obtained. In case a person was unaware of that fact, he cannot be charged with the receipt of stolen property.
Person Didn’t Know That the Property Was in His Possession
The prosecutor should also prove that the defendant was actually aware the property was in his possession. In case a person didn’t know about the presence of the property, he can’t be convicted under Penal Code Section 496.
Innocent Intent
This defense applies if the defendant can show that he intended to return the stolen property to the police or the rightful owner at the time he had received the property. If the defendant decided to keep the stolen property and only later intended to return it this defense will fail.
Penalties Receiving Stolen Property Under California Penal Code Section 496(a)
In California law receiving stolen property is considered a wobbler and can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the defendant's prior criminal history and case circumstances. But if the total value of the property is $950 or less the defendant can only be charged with misdemeanor.
Penalties for Misdemeanor 496(a) PC Receiving Stolen Property Offense
Penalties for misdemeanor 496(a) PC receiving stolen property offense include the following:
Up to one year in county jail,
A fine of up to 1,000 , and/or
Probation
Penalties for Felony 496(a) PC Receiving Stolen Property Offense
Penalties for a felony 496(a) PC receiving stolen property offense include the following:
Sixteen months, two or three years in jail,
A fine of up to 10,000), and/or
Felony probation
In addition to the penalties mentioned above a person may face a civil lawsuit by the rightful owner of the property. Lastly, if a convicted person is a noncitizen, he will have immigration consequences which can include a bar to citizenship, reentry to the US, adjustment of status, and deportation.
496(a) PC Receiving Stolen Property Lawyer
For answers to any other questions you may still have about California Penal Code 496(a) or to discuss your case confidentially with our team of experienced California criminal defense attorneys at KAASS Law. Give give us a call at (310) 943-1171. We are highly dedicated to serving the needs of our clients.
Entering another person’s property with the intent to damage the property
Refusing to leave another person’s property upon the owner’s request.
Legal Defenses California Penal Code 602 PC Trespassing
Defendant had the owner’s consent to be on the property
If a person can prove that he initially had the owner’s consent to enter the property you he won’t be considered guilty under the California Penal Code Section 602.
Defendant hadn’t occupied the property
In order to convicted for the type of trespass that includes occupying another person’s property the defendant must in some way deprive the owner of the use or enjoyment his property for a continuous period of time. If defendant can show that his presence on the property did not affect the owner’s right to use or enjoy the property, he can’t be guilty of this type of trespass.
Defendant did not interfere with activity on the property
If you are charged for the type of trespass that involves interfering or obstructing on the property such as business activity then you must have actually interfered with or obstructed that business. If you didn't do so you can’t be convicted of criminal trespass.
Penalties for California Criminal Trespass Under Penal Code 602
In California criminal trespassing charges can be filed as infractions, misdemeanors, or felonies. The following are penalties for California trespass.
California Infraction Trespass Penalties
The trespass is charged as an infraction in case the defendant willfully entered another person’s land and fence enclosed the land, or a “no trespassing” signs were hung at intervals of no less than three to a mile.
The penalties for California trespass penalties charged as an infraction can include:
$75 fine for a first offense, and
$250 fine for a second offense on the same land.
California Misdemeanor Trespass Penalties
The majority of trespass cases are charged as misdemeanors and penalties can include:
Up to six months or in certain cases up to 1 year in county jail,
A fine of up to $1,000
Probation
California Aggravated Trespass Penalties
California aggravated trespass occurs when the defendant makes credible threat to physically injure a person and then within 30 days of the threat actually enters that person’s property to seemingly carry out that threat. In California law aggravated trespass is considered a wobbler and it can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on specific circumstances of the offense.
California Felony Trespass Penalties
California felony trespass penalties include the following:
Sixteen months, two or three years in county jail; and/or
Felony probation
California Penal Code 602 PC Trespassing Lawyer
For answers to any other questions you may still have about California Penal Code 602 PC Trespassing charges or to discuss your case confidentially with our team of experienced California criminal defense attorneys.
Give KAASS Law a call at (310) 943-1171. Our law firm is highly dedicated to serving the needs of our clients.
What are Legal Defenses for Penal Code 594 Vandalism?
The Damage Was Not Done “Maliciously.”
California Penal Code section 594 requires that defendant “maliciously” commit vandalism. If the action was unintentional, accidental or negligent it serves as a valid legal defense.
Ownership of the Property
In case defendant actually owned the damaged, destroyed or defaced property he should not be found guilty or charged with the offense.
Consent
In case the “victim” gave his permission to damage or destroy the property, then defendant did not commit the crime of vandalism.
Penalties for Violating California's Vandalism Law
In case the value of the defaced, damaged, or destroyed property is less than $400, defendant can only be charged with misdemeanor vandalism. If the value of property is $400 or more, then vandalism becomes a wobbler and the defendant can be charged with either a felony or a misdemeanor.
Are California Vandalism Crimes Eligible for a Probation?
Vandalism crimes are generally eligible for a probation sentence.
Probation terms can include restraining orders, repayment of the damaged property, community service, required counseling. Felony probation requires the defendant to check in with a probation officer, whereas misdemeanor probation does not require the supervision of a probation officer.
Penalties for Misdemeanor Vandalism Value is Less than $400
If the value of the vandalized and or damaged property is less than $400 the penalties for misdemeanor vandalism under penal code 594 is as follows:
Up to 1 year in a county jail,
A maximum fine of $1,000, or up to $5,000 if defendant has prior vandalism conviction,
Probation.
Penalties for Misdemeanor Vandalism Value is More than $400
If the value of the vandalized and or damaged property is more than $400 the penalties for misdemeanor vandalism under penal code 594 is as follows:
Up to 1 year in a county jail
A maximum fine of $10,000, or up to $50,000 in case the total amount of the damaged property was $10,000 or more, and/or
Probation
Penalties for Felony Vandalism Penal Code 594
Penalties for felony vandalism under penal code 594 are as follows:
Up to one year of country jail, or a jail sentence of 16 months, 2 or 3 years
A maximum fine of $10,000 up to $50,000 in case the total amount of the damaged property was $10,000 or more,
Probation
Collateral Consequences Under Vandalism Penal Code 594
Defendant’s driver’s License can be suspended up to 2 years. In case the defendant has no license at the time, the Court can suspend the issuance of the license for up to three years.
Vandalism Penal Code 594 Lawyer
For answers to any other questions you may still have about California Penal Code 594 or to discuss your case confidentially with our team of experienced California criminal defense attorneys.
A lawyer is not allowed to misrepresent or conceal the dual representation. Simultaneous conflicts of interest can result from the lawyer’s responsibilities to another client, a former client, or a third party or from the lawyer’s own interests.
Conflict of Interest Between Attorney-Client Relationship
In the event that a conflict of interest arises between a lawyer and their clients, there are already established rules that the attorney must follow.
Firstly, the lawyer must clearly identify the client or clients that this conflict affects or may affect. Then, he must determine whether or not a conflict of interest does exist as well as whether or not he can still represent the client despite the existence of the conflict by means of written, informed consent.
While it may sound counter-intuitive at first, a lawyer can, in certain circumstances, represent two clients whose interests are not necessarily perfectly aligned–if and only if they both consent to it after being informed of the risks and challenges that may come about due to that representation.
Can a Conflict of Interest Exist Before Attorney-Client Representation is Established?
The complications to the issue of conflict of interest mainly come up due to the fact that a conflict of interest can exist before representation is established, during the client-lawyer relationship, and even potentially after it is over.
The reasons for this vary widely but generally it is always the responsibility of the lawyer or law firm to do their own internal research and determine whether or not it is legal, advisable, and safe to offer up representation of a client. Furthermore, as a general rule it is not favorable nor ideal to be represented by a lawyer or law firm that has a client whose interests do not align with yours.
Can a Attorney Receive Informed Consent of The Involved Clients to Avoid Conflict of Interest?
If the conflict cannot be resolved by means of informed consent of the involved clients, then it is expected that the lawyer withdraw from the representation.
One of the core aspects of being a lawyer is to faithfully represent a client and all of their best interests once the client-lawyer relationship gets established and, as such, if an unresolvable conflict of interest arises, then it is only natural for the lawyer to withdraw from the representation. If he does not, then he cannot faithfully represent his client or clients and that goes contrary to the ethos of the profession.
California Conflict of Interest Lawyer
Our lawyers in Glendale, Los Angeles, CA, at KAASS LAW believe in the integrity that comes with the legal profession and we stand to uphold it at all costs.
We thoroughly search our database to avoid such problems and we work with clients to ensure their needs and interests are always met. In the event that you feel you may have been represented by a lawyer or law firm who failed to inform you of a conflict of interest or who deliberately took on your representation regardless, we encourage you to give us a toll free call at (310) 943-1171 to speak to our defense attorneys today.
We will fight to right the wrongs of other malicious firms or lawyer and we stand by our client’s best interests always. At KAASS LAW, we know exactly where our loyalties lie–with our clients.
Uneven, wet, or broken floors that are not signed properly;
Improperly maintained equipment;
Poor advice from a trainer or other gym staff member how to use the equipment;
Dangerous objects that are stored not properly.
Common Injuries Suffered in a Gym or Fitness Center
Some of the common injuries that gym accidents can cause:
Fractured Bones;
Neck and spinal injuries;
Internal bleeding;
Sprains and Strains;
Spinal Cord Damage;
Brain Injury;
Facial injuries;
Eye Injuries;
Crush Injuries;
Traumatic Head Injury; and
Nervous system damage
A Gym or Fitness Facility Must Use Reasonable Care to Discover Any Unsafe Conditions
Gym owners must use reasonable care to discover any unsafe conditions; they are also responsible for fixing dangerous conditions and warn the gym members about those dangers. In case a property owner is unable to fix the dangerous condition he must put up a notice or warning of the hazard. A person injured in fitness center may be able to recover damages for medical bills, hospital bills, physical or occupational therapy, medical supplies, lost wages, pain and suffering, lost earning capacity, punitive damages and property damage.
Legal Defenses to Gym Accidents Involving Members or Patrons
The more popular legal defenses that fitness facilities such as LA Fitness or 24 Hour Fitness may use to defend gym accident lawsuits include the following defenses.
Assumption of Risk Defense in Gym Accidents
Assumption of risk is a legal defense that makes liable a person who engaged in strenuous physical activity. The gym owners can prove that the victim assumed the risk of injury, knew he could get hurt at the gym and chose to join anyway.
Gym Release of Liability Waivers
Generally, most gyms and fitness facilities require their members to sign a waiver of liability. While, others gyms or fitness centers may post disclaimers that all members are working out at their own risk.
Moreover, gyms generally include a release of liability waiver within their membership contract which depending on the language ultimately releases the gym and its employees from liability in the event the member suffers an injury and wants to file a personal injury lawsuit against the gym. However, a gym and fitness facility can not completely reveal themselves from absolute liability. The skilled Glendale personal injury attorney at KAASS LAW have been able to successfully sue and recover money damages for injuries suffered at a fitness facility with the existence of release of liability waiver.
Suing a Gym in California For Suffering Injury
In California a victim can sue a fitness center or a gym in California for suffering an injury due to::
He was purposely injured by someone at the gym,
The gym didn’t repair defective or broken equipment and allowed to work out on it,
It was grossly negligent.
As such, a release of liability gym waiver can be considered void if it is overly broad or violates public policy.
Gym Accidents Defective Exercise Equipment
In some cases gym accidents are caused by a defective piece of exercise equipment. A part of workout equipment can break and cause a person to lose control of the equipment and suffer an injury.
Product Liability in California for Defective Exercise Equipment
According to California's products liability law, the company who manufactured, designed, or sold the defective workout/fitness equipment product is liable for caused injuries. The injured person does not have to prove the company was negligent. In product defect cases, strict liability can be imposed for manufacturing defects, design defects, and failure-to-warn defects.
Los Angeles Gym Accidents Lawyer
Have you been injured due to a gym accident in California? If so, we invite you to hire our dedicated Los Angeles gym accident lawyers today. You can rely on our experienced lawyer to carefully analyze the facts of your case to prove the facts necessary.
To schedule a free consultation with one of our personal injury lawyers, call Kaass law today at (310) 943-1171 or send us an email through our online appointment form.
The term “structure” includes not only inhabited or uninhabitable residence but also tunnels, bridges, tents and power. The term “property” includes any personal property of another person like furniture, vehicle, clothing etc.
Penal Code 452 Describes “Recklessly”
Defendant was conscious that his actions present a significant and unjustifiable risk of causing a fire
Defendant ignored that risk
Doing so was a gross departure from what a reasonable person would have done in a similar situation
Legal Defenses to California Penal Code 451 or 452 Arson Charges
The fire was an accident
If a person can prove that the fire started accidentally, was absolutely an unintended and went out of control, he won’t be considered guilty of these crimes. There are situation when a person unintentionally created high risk of a fire, but was unaware of the risk because was impaired or voluntarily intoxicated (was drunk or on drugs as a result of his own actions). Though the person was incapable of understanding or appreciating the risk that will not serve as a defense to California Penal Code Section reckless burning charge.
Lack of Sufficient Evidence
Most arson cases are built with only on circumstantial evidence, with no witnesses. The physical evidence does not show the person started a fire, this make the prosecutor’s case very difficult to prove.
The fire was not the reason of arson
Before a person can be convicted of arson, the prosecution needs to prove that arson even took place. Arson is a crime which requires very sophisticated technical investigation.
Penalties for California Arson Conviction
Penalties for California arson charges vary a great deal, depending on: the nature of the burned property, the defendant's criminal history and whether someone was injured as a result of the fire.
Penalties for Penal Code 451 Malicious Arson Conviction
Under PC 451 malicious arson is always a felony, punishable by imprisonment in the California state prison. The potential prison terms are:
Sixteen months, two three years for malicious arson of personal property;
Two, four or six years for malicious arson of forest or a structure;
Three, five or eight years for malicious arson if an inhabited building was burned
Five, seven or nine years if the arson caused great bodily injury to the victim
Fine of up to $10,000 to all types of malicious arson
The defendant can face an additional fine up to $50,000 or twice the amount of expected financial gain from the fire.