Under California Penal Code Section 203 PC mayhem is defined as the act of maliciously an illegally depriving person of a member of his body; disabling, or rendering useless a member of his body; disabling or cutting his tongue; putting out his eye; slitting his nose, ear or lip.
Penal Code Section 203 PC Aggravated Mayhem
Under California Penal Code Section 205 aggravated mayhem is defined as intentional causing another person a permanent disfigurement or disability, or depriving him of a limb, organ or member.
California Criminal Jury Instruction No. 801
California’s Criminal Jury Instructions No. 801 indicates the following additional stipulations on how a person can be found guilty of mayhem:
Body part disablement must be more than temporary or slight; it must be so egregious as to significantly interfere with person’s life.
Eye injury must so significantly reduce the person’s ability to see such that it is useless for ordinary sight.
Disfigurement must be permanent
At the time of the act the victim must be alive. In case the victim dies, a more severe charge of murder can be brought.
To Be Convicted of Aggravated Mayhem Penal Code 203 PC Prosecutor Must Prove The Following
To convict a defendant of aggravated mayhem, the prosecutor must establish the following elements:
Defendant illegally and maliciously disabled or permanently disfigured another person
Defendant acted with the intent to disable or permanently disfigure
Defendant’s act showed extreme indifference to the psychological or physical condition of another person
Difference Between Mayhem and Aggravated Mayhem
In aggravated mayhem case the prosecution must prove that the defendant had the specific intent to disfigure or dismember or a person. For proving an ordinary mayhem, the prosecutor only needs to prove that the defendant committed an act maliciously and that resulted in disfigurement or dismemberment but the defendant didn’t have intent to disfigure or dismember that person.
Maliciously
Under California Penal Code 203 action acting maliciously means committing an illegal act with intent to annoy or injure someone else
Permanent Disfigurement
According to California mayhem law, a disfiguring injury can be considered permanent even if it can be repaired by medical procedures.
Penalties for PC 203 Simple Mayhem and PC 205 Aggravated Mayhem
In California law both types of mayhem are considered felonies
Penalties for California Penal Code Section 203 Simple Mayhem
Penalties for California Penal Code Section 203 Simple Mayhem include:
Two, four or eight years in California state prison;
A fine of up to $10,000
Felony probation
If the defendant knew or reasonably should have known that one of the below mentioned facts about the victim was true he will receive 1 or 2 year sentence enhancement:
The victim was sixty five years or older
The victim was under the age of fourteen
The victim was deaf or blind
The victim was developmentally disabled or paraplegic or quadriplegic
Penalties for California Penal Code Section 205 Aggravated Mayhem
Penalties for California Penal Code Section 205 aggravated mayhem include:
A fine of up to $10,000
A life sentence in state prison
In some mayhem or aggravated cases a probation sentence can be available and can include some actual jail time (not prison), work release or house arrest along with other probation terms.
Does Mayhem and Aggravated Mayhem Fall Under California Three Strike Sentencing Law?
Both mayhem and aggravated mayhem are considered violent and serious crimes under California Three Strikes Sentencing Law. The defendant will be convicted of a strike offense and suffer additional punishments such as:
While in being in prison he will earn less good time credits
He may suffer harsher punishment for future criminal convictions
Under California Penal Code Section 647(i), also known as the “peeping Tom” law, it is illegal to peek into a door or window on someone else’s private property without the consent of the owner for observing persons who are inside.
To Be Convicted of Penal Code 657(i) Prosecutor Must Prove
The prosecutor must establish the following elements for convicting the defendant in the offense of peeking while loitering:
Defendant lingered, delayed, wandered or prowled on another person’s private property
Defendant did not have a lawful purpose for being another person’s property
Defendant peeked in the door or window of an inhabited building or structure when he was on the property
What is California Penal Code 647(i)?
Under California Penal Code 647(i) any building which is used as a residence can be considered an inhabited structure. It is not important whether someone is inside at the time of peeking or not, a person can be charged with peeking while loitering even if no one is at the property.
Is "Specific Intent" Required in Peeping Tom Penal Code 647(i) Cases?
Penal Code 647(i) doesn’t require specific intent, and it is not important why a person decided to peek into a door or window on someone else’s private property. So a person can be convicted even if he entered the property without intent to loiter or peek.
Unemployment insurance fraud occurs when an individual provides false, incomplete or misleading information, intentionally conceals facts or provides wrong identification for obtaining, increasing or denying benefits.
California Unemployment Insurance Laws and The EDD
In California the Employment Development Department (EDD), which is a combination of both state and federal programs, is managing unemployment benefits system.
California unemployment insurance assists people who become unemployed through no fault of their own to keep financial security while they seek new job. There are some circumstances under which a person can qualify for benefits.
Person is currently unemployed or have had his hours cut to below full time
Person’s last day of employment was not more than eighteen months ago
Person is ready and willing to work but is unable to find a job
Person is actively searching new employment
A person can recover a maximum of $450 per week and the program can’t last more than one year.
Types of Unemployment Insurance Fraud in California
In California both employees and employers can be accused of committing unemployment insurance fraud.
According to California Penal Code Section 401 it is prohibited to intentionally aid, advice, or encourage another person to commit suicide.
In Order to be Found Guilty for Penal Code 401 Prosecution Must Prove
Prosecutor must establish the following elements to prove that a defendant is guilty of advising or encouraging a suicide,
Person tried to commit or committed suicide
Defendant intentionally aided, advised or encouraged that person to commit suicide.
What Does “Aiding, Advising or Encouraging Suicide” Mean?
“Aiding, advising or encouraging a suicide” means the following:
Counseling, persuading or advising a person to commit suicide
Providing a person whit necessary tools, such as lethal doses of drugs, poison or a weapon with knowledge that those tools are likely to be used for committing a suicide
Even if a person survived the suicide attempt you can still be charged of assisting in suicide as a California attempt crime.
Difference Between Murder and Assisting a Suicide
If the defendant helps another person to kill himself he will be guilty under Penal Code Section 401. In case a person asked the defendant to kill him and the defendant carry out that act, then his action will be considered murder, voluntary manslaughter, or attempted murder.
Pursuant to California Penal Code Section 246.3(a) a person who willfully discharges a firearm in a grossly negligent manner which could cause injury or death is guilty of a public offense.
To Be Convicted of Penal Code 246.3 (a) Prosecutor Must Prove The Following
To convict the defendant in negligent discharge of a firearm the prosecution must prove, beyond a reasonable doubt, the following elements:
Defendant intentionally fired the firearm or BB gun
Defendant fired the gun in a grossly negligent manner
Defendant’s action could have resulted in injury or death of another person
What is Willful Intent?
A person shot the firearm intentionally when he pulled the trigger and knew that the firearm was loaded. In case the gun went off completely by accident and a person reasonable believed that the firearm was not loaded it cannot be a negligent discharge.
What is Gross Negligence?
Gross negligence is more than an ordinary negligence, it means acting so recklessly that any reasonable person can realize that the act is likely to produce great bodily injury or even death. Gross negligence shows a conscious disrespect and indifference regarding the rights and safety of other people. If a person was shooting the weapon in a place where no one was around then he won’t be guilty under Penal Code Section 246.3. Gross negligence happens when a person was shooting the weapon in an area where many people lived and there was a huge chance that his act could possibly cause injury or death.
According to California Vehicle Code Section 10853 it is unlawful for any person to intentionally deface damage or destroy the personal property of another. The law applies both to vehicles and items attached to vehicles, as mirrors, hood ornaments and license plates.
Elements Required to Be Convicted of Vehicle Code 10853 Malicious Mischief to a Vehicle
For a defendant to be convicted of Vehicle Code 10853 malicious mischief to a vehicle the prosecutor must prove the following elements beyond a reasonable doubt:
Defendant climbed into a vehicle while it was in motion or at rest, or
Defendant attempted to manipulate the starting mechanism, levers or other mechanism or device of a vehicle.
Defendant had intent to commit malicious mischief.
Malicious Mischief Damage Without Possession
Malicious mischief is type of a non-violent crime, which doesn’t involve injury to a victim or use of force and fear; instead it involves some type of property damage or economic loss to a victim. Malicious mischief of a vehicle occurs when someone damages another person’s property regardless the amount of damage. The value of the damage can be significant or minor, but the key issue in the crime is the damaging of the property. Malicious mischief does not involve taking a vehicle, but only defacing, destroying or otherwise damaging it without the owner's consent.
Under California Welfare and Institutions Code Section 10980 welfare fraud is an act of unlawfully obtaining welfare benefits from the government by intentionally submitting false information or withholding relevant information or.
Forms of Welfare Fraud Under California W&I Code 10980
According to California W&I Code 10980, defendant can commit welfare fraud in different forms, including:
Defendant deliberately misstated information for receiving benefits
Defendant failed to provide relevant information for receiving benefits
Defendant used more than one name when applied for the benefits
Defendant filed numerous applications for obtaining multiple benefits
Defendant purchased, used, transferred or possessed counterfeit food stamps
Types of California Welfare Fraud
Generally California welfare fraud can be classed to two main types: recipient welfare fraud or internal fraud.
California Penal Code Section 332, gaming fraud or gambling fraud is obtaining another person’s money or property through use of any game, device, sleight of hand, pretensions to fortune telling, trick or any instrument. Gaming or gambling fraud falls under and is considered as theft crime in California.
The California Penal Code, under section 332 establishes the elements that the prosecution must prove to a conviction someone of this crime, the main requirements are the following:
Acted with action intent to defraud another person's.
Obtain money or property.
Through "three card monte", betting, gambling or pretensions to fortune-telling.
Prosecution must prove the following elements beyond a reasonable doubt for convicting a person of fraudulent gaming:
Defendant fraudulently obtain another person's money or property;
Defendant did so by use of any game, device, sleight of hand, pretensions to fortune telling, trick or any instrument. It is not prohibited to play the games, in case a person commits a fraud and got money from other one through a game in an unlawful manner.
California safety requirements for the construction of stairways, ramps, stair rails which is governed by the California Code of Regulations.
Guidelines Regarding Construction of Stairwells and Stairs Under California Code of Regulations
There are several guidelines regarding the construction of stairwells and stairs in the California Code of Regulations, (Chapter 4. Division of Industrial Safety, Subchapter 4. Construction Safety Orders) Article 17 on Ramps, Runways, Stairwells, and Stairs. In this blog, we will simplify the regulations listed by Cal/OSHA, so that you can ensure that your property abides with all safety requirements. When stairways, ramps, stairwells and so forth are not constructed accordingly, an injured party maybe file a premises liability claim against the property owner for damages suffered. Therefore, ensuring your property is up to California safety standards is vital.
California Stairway Construction Requirements
Before moving on to the specifics of stairways used during construction and stair rails/hand rails, a general guideline for all stairways requires them to be, at least 24 inches in width and fortified with stair rails, handrails, treads, and landings. In addition, all railings and toe boards should meet the requirements listed in Article 16 of the California Code of Regulations. Article 16 describes all safety measures for design and construction of railings and toe boards (§1620, §1621).
Any individual who commits a crime under the age of 18 is subject to the juvenile justice system in California. The purpose of juvenile courts is to educate, rehabilitate and counsel minors, whereas adult criminal courts focus on punishing people for crimes they have committed.
Reasons a Juvenile Can Get Arrested in California
A juvenile can be arrested for violating a criminal statute or committing a status offense, such as truancy, curfew violations, running away and incorrigibility.
What Happens Following a Juvenile Arrest in California?
After the arrest of a juvenile, the police officers may choose one of the following actions:
Give the minor a warning and release him with no further action
Release the minor with a citation to appear later in a court with parent/guardian
Take the minor to a juvenile hall
What is Juvenile Hall?
Juvenile hall is operated by the probation department, and like a police officer a probation officer can choose to:
Release the minor with a citation to appear later in a court.
Release the juvenile with a probation program to follow with no requirement to return to the court.
In case the defendant had a lawful reason to be on property (working as contractor or was a meter reader or surveyor), he can’t be found guilty under Penal Code Section 647(i).
Defendant was not on a private property
As an essential element of this offense defendant must be on a private property. It is not unlawful to look through the window or a door of an inhabited structure while standing or being on public property or your own property.
Defendant entered an uninhabited building or structure
In case the defendant was peeked into an uninhabited structure or former inhabited dwelling he should not face a peeking while loitering conviction.
What are the Penalties for Penal Code Section 647(i) Conviction?
Under California Penal Code Section 647(i) unlawful peeking is a misdemeanor offence and the penalties are the following:
Up to six months in a county jail,
A fine of up to $1,000
Misdemeanor probation
The penalties for second or subsequent offense or a first time offense in case the person being viewed is a minor are the following:
Up to one year in a county jail,
A fine of up to $2,000
Defendant's Criminal History a Factor in Sentencing Penal Code 647(i) Conviction
Depending on the case circumstances and the defendant’s criminal history he can be sentenced to misdemeanor probation instead of the jail time. Judge may impose different conditions on that probation, such as periodic court appearances, paying restitution to the victim or staying away from the property and the victim, not committing this offense anywhere else. In case the defendant has two or more prior felony convictions, a prior felony conviction during which he was armed or a prior conviction for a serious felony he can’t be entitled to informal probation.
California Penal Code 647(i) Lawyer
For answers to any other questions you may still have about California Penal Code 657(i) charges or to discuss your case confidentially with our team of experienced California criminal defense attorneys give us a call at (310) 943-1171. Our lawyers in Glendale, Los Angeles County, CA, are highly dedicated to serving the needs of our clients.
Here are some examples of unemployment insurance fraud committed by employees:
Double dipping - collecting benefits and not reporting to the EDD.
Failing to actively seeking new job but claiming you are diligently looking for work
Failing to report other forms of compensation you are receiving such as social security, pension payments and workers comp
Collecting benefits from different states simultaneously
Lying about the reasons of becoming unemployed
Working and continuing to receive unemployment benefits
Giving wrongful information to qualify for unemployment benefits
Unemployment Insurance Fraud Committed Employers
Employers are committing unemployment insurance fraud when they try to deny benefits to a former employee for defrauding the EDD, these include:
Purposefully withholding deductions and failing to paying them to the EDD
Intentionally providing wrongful information about the unemployment claim, such as why the employee was no longer working or about the wages the he was receiving
California Unemployment Fraud Investigation Process
The California EDD collects information mostly from public fraud report hotline and their field offices that gather unemployment fraud applications.
After gathering information EDD assigns alleged cases to a special investigation unit. In case unit manages to find adequate evidence that fraud has taken place they are will file unemployment insurance fraud charges. If they don’t get enough evidence they will drop the case or work for obtaining further information.
Penalties for California Unemployment Insurance Fraud
Unemployment insurance fraud is considered a wobbler and can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony, based on the case circumstances, the amount of the fraud and the defendant's criminal history. Defendant can be charged either under Unemployment Insurance Code Section 2101 or California Penal Code Section 550 (PC 550).
Unemployment Insurance Code Section 2101
Pursuant to the California Unemployment Insurance Code Section 2101 (a): It is a violation of this chapter to willfully make a false statement or representation, to knowingly fail to disclose a material fact, or to use a false name, false social security number, or other false identification to obtain, increase, reduce, or defeat any benefit or payment, whether for the maker or for any other person, under any of the following statutes administered by the department:
Penalties for Misdemeanor Conviction: Unemployment Insurance Code Section 2101
Penalties for misdemeanor conviction for violating Unemployment Insurance Code Section 2101 include the following:
Up to one year in a county jail
A fine up to $20,000.
Penalties for Felony Conviction: Unemployment Insurance Code Section 2101
Penalties for felony conviction for violating Unemployment Insurance Code Section 2101 include the following:
Sixteen months, two or three years in California state prison
A fine up to $20,000
General Insurance Fraud: California Penal Code 550 (PC 550)
Penalties for Misdemeanor PC 550 Conviction
In case the total amount of the fraud is $950 or less the crime is considered a misdemeanor, punishable by:
Up to six months in a country jail
A fine up to $1,000
In case the total amount of the fraud is more than $950 the crime is considered wobbler.
Penalties for Felony PC 550 Conviction
Two, three, or five years in a country jail
A fine up to $50,000 or double the total amount of the fraud, whichever is greater
Are you in need of legal assistance as a result of being charged for unemployment insurance in California? A criminal defense attorney in your area may be able to provide you with the help that you need.
California California’s End of Life Option Act: Physician-Assisted Suicide
California’s End of Life Option Act allows a person who is diagnosed with a terminal disease to ask for an aid-in-dying drug from his physician. For receiving an approval the physician must submit detailed information to the California Department of Public Health.
What Conditions Must Be Met Under California’s End of Life Option Act?
The patient must meet the following conditions for getting help to commit a suicide under California’s End of Life Option Act:
Patient must be a California resident at least 18 years old
According to medical judgment patient must have a diagnosis of an irreversible disease which will result in death in a 6 months
Patient must be able to make medical decisions by himself and must voluntarily requested an aid-in-dying drug
Patient must be able to self-administer the drug
If the all above mentioned requirement are met the physicians cannot be prosecuted under California Penal Code Section 401 for assisting a terminally ill patient’s suicide.
Defenses to California Penal Code 401 Aiding, Advising or Encouraging Suicide
Common defenses to California Penal Code 401 Aiding, Advising or Encouraging Suicide include
Defendant didn’t have a deliberate intent to help in a suicide
In case the defendant unintentionally aided or encouraged a person to commit suicide without intent, he can’t be found guilty of this crime.
The person didn’t have intent to commit a suicide
Maybe the person who attempted or committed suicide didn’t have actual intent to kill himself. The attempt or the death may have been an accident.
California Penalties for Assisting, Aiding or Encouraging Suicide
Under California law aiding, advising or encouraging a suicide is considered a felony. The punishment depends on whether the person survived the suicide or not. Defendant can receive lighter punishment in case the person has survived.
What are the Penalties for Penal Code 401?
The possible penalties under Penal Code 401 Aiding, Advising or Encouraging Suicide” include:
Sixteen months, two or three years in California state prison; and/or
A fine of up to $10,000
Felony probation
Glendale Criminal Defense Lawyers
Our Glendale criminal defense lawyers experienced penal code 401 charges and are here to answer any questions If you or a loved one has been charged with penal code 401 and you would like to discuss your case confidentially with one of our criminal defense lawyers at (310) 943-1171.
Use of Firearm or BB Gun in Penal Code 246.3(a) Charges
A firearm is any device which is used as a weapon from which a projective is discharged. A BB gun is any instrument that expels a projectile through the force of gas pressure, air pressure or spring action. Penalties for negligent firing BB gun are lesser than for negligent discharge of a firearm.
Defenses to Penal Code 246.3(a) Charges
Common defenses to Penal Code 246.3(a) including the following:
Self-Defense
In using the self defense claim in penal code 246.3(a) charges the defendant may claim self-defense in situations where:
He had the reasonable belief that he was in imminent danger of great bodily harm
He fired the gun with the reasonable belief that he was protecting himself
He used force that was reasonably necessary to deflect that harm
In case the defendant discharged a firearm in the above mentioned circumstances he cannot be found guilty of this crime. However, defendant must have ceased from using force once the threat of danger had passed.
Defendant had a reasonable belief that the gun was not loaded
Under California Penal Code Section 246.3 firing a gun intentionally is a key element of the crime. Defendant must have known that the gun was loaded for being convicted in negligent discharge of a firearm.
Defendant’s actions didn’t cause actual danger, injury or death
Prosecution must be able to prove that defendant’s discharge of a firearm posed an actual danger to people. In case no one could have been foreseeable and reasonably hurt then the defendant cannot be found guilty of negligent discharge.
Penalties for California Penal Code 246.3(a) Conviction
In California law negligent discharge is considered a wobbler and can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony, based on the case circumstances the defendant's criminal history. In case the negligent discharge is done with a BB device it is always a misdemeanor.
Penalties for Misdemeanor Penal Code 246.3(a) Conviction
Penalties for Misdemeanor Penal Code 246.3(a) conviction include the following:
Up to one year in a county jail
A fine of up to $1,000
Misdemeanor probation
Penalties for Felony Penal Code 246.3(a) Conviction
Penalties for Felony Penal Code 246.3(a) conviction include the following:
Sixteen months, two or three years in a country jail under California’s realignment program
A fine of up to $10,000
Felony probation
Gang Sentencing Enhancement: California Penal Code Section 186.22
In case the defendant discharge a firearm in association with a known gang, for the benefit of the gang or at the direction of the gang with the specific intent of assisting the gang in any way he will face additional two, three or four years in prison.
California Three Strikes Enhancement
Under California's “Three Strikes” law felony negligent discharge is classified as a “serious felony”. In case a conviction for Penal Code Section 246.3 as a felony is later followed by a charge for another felony, the defendant will face punishment twice the normal sentence for the second offense. A conviction for third felony will result in a sentence of twenty-five years to life in a state prison.
Immigration Consequences for Penal Code 246.3(a) Conviction
A negligent discharge of a firearm is considered a deportable crime and can lead to severe consequences for non-citizens. In case a defendant is a non-citizen and is convicted of this crime, he can be deported or be subject to inadmissibility grounds.
California Penal Code 246.3(a) Lawyer
For answers to any other questions you may still have about California Penal Code 246.3(a) charges or to discuss your case confidentially with our team of experienced California criminal defense attorneys give us a call at (310) 943-1171. Our lawyers in Glendale, Los Angeles County, CA, are highly dedicated to serving the needs of our clients.
Common defenses to California Vehicle Code 10853 Malicious Mischief to a Vehicle include the following:
Defendant didn’t have an intent to deface, damage or destroy
Person must have a clear intent to damage, deface or destroy another person's vehicle. In case he did so accidently and without specific intent he can’t be criminally liable under California Vehicle Code Section 10853.
Wrong person has been arrested
People usually commit malicious mischief to a vehicle at night and do it very quickly. So it becomes really hard for eyewitnesses to recognize the person who has committed the crime and this can lead to false arrests.
Vehicle Code 10853 Malicious Mischief to a Vehicle Penalties
According to Vehicle Code Section 10853 malicious mischief to a vehicle is a misdemeanor level offense. The penalties for this crime are the following:
Up to six months in a county jail
A fine of up to $1,000
Probation
Consequences for a Vehicle Code 10853 Conviction
In addition to all penalties the conviction can lead to significant consequences for the defendant. The conviction is visible to landlords, employers and anyone else who conduct a criminal background searches.
Related Crimes Malicious Malicious Mischief to a Vehicle
The following crimes are related to malicious mischief to a vehicle.
California Vehicle Code Section 10851 - Driving or taking a vehicle without the owner's consent
Our Glendale criminal defense lawyers experienced with malicious mischief to a vehicle charges are here to answer any questions If you or a loved one has been charged with malicious mischief to a vehicle and you would like to discuss your case confidentially with one of our criminal defense lawyers at (310) 943-1171.
What is Considered as Recipient Fraud in California?
Recipient fraud involves any attempt to receive, secure, retain, or increase a benefit by means of submitting wrongful, incomplete or misleading information. Recipient fraud examples include:
Not reporting additional income or benefits.
Claiming a fictitious or ineligible child.
Claiming to be a single dad or mom when both parents actually live at the same residence.
Collection benefits from two states at the same time.
What is Considered as Internal Fraud in California?
Internal fraud is committed by an employee of a government welfare agency. This occurs when the workers are unlawfully disbursing welfare benefits to themselves, their family members or friends.
California Welfare Fraud Investigation Process
Prosecuting agencies in California receive welfare fraud cases from different sources, as public hotlines and websites, local agencies and any other agencies that suspect welfare fraud. Welfare fraud investigations start from gathering evidence and information in welfare fraud cases, including:
Contacting and speaking directly with welfare benefit recipients
Contacting and speaking with family members, friends, co-workers, employers
Examining welfare benefit applications and person’s income trends.
The investigator presents relevant information to a deputy district attorney who will determine whether a criminal filing is appropriate or not. District attorney can do one of the following:
File criminal charges under WIC Section 10980
Return the case to the investigator for gathering more information,
Reject the case
Penalties for Welfare and Institutions Code 10980 Conviction
According to California WIC Section 10980, welfare fraud is a wobbler and can either be filed as a misdemeanor or felony crime and the type of charges depend of the value of benefits defendant’s criminal history.
False or Misleading Statements in Welfare Fraud
In case the defendant made false or misleading statement for obtaining benefits, he will face:
Up to six months in a jail and
A fine of maximum $500
Fraudulent Application in Welfare
Defendant will be convicted for feeling fraudulent application in case:
He has filed multiple applications,
He has applied for benefits under a fake name or false identification or
He has filled application for a fictitious person
Penalties for Felony Welfare and Institutions Code 10980 Conviction
Fraudulent application can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony offense. Penalties for felony Welfare and Institutions Code 10980 conviction include:
Sixteen months, two or three years in a county jail,
A fine up to $5,000
Penalties for Misdemeanor Welfare and Institutions Code 10980 Conviction
Penalties for misdemeanor Welfare and Institutions Code 10980 conviction are the following:
Up to one year in a jail,
A fine up to $1,000
Fraudulently Obtaining or Retaining Benefits
In case the total value of the benefit is $950 or less obtaining or retaining fraudulent benefits is a misdemeanor, and is punishable by:
Up to six months in jail,
A fine up to $500
In case the total value of the benefit was more than $950, the defendant will face felony, punishable by:
Sixteen months, two or three years in a county jail,
A fine up to $5,000
California Food Stamp fraud
Selling, buying, or misusing food stamps is a misdemeanor in case the amount involved was $950 or less, punishable by
Up to six months in a jail
A fine up to $500
In case the value is more than $950 the defendant will face felony, punishable by
Sixteen months, two or three years in a jail
A fine up to $5,000
People convicted of welfare fraud may lose their professional license, job, become disqualified to receive future welfare benefits.
California Welfare Fraud Defense Lawyer
Our California welfare fraud defense lawyers are here to answer any questions If you or a loved one has been charged with Welfare and Institutions Code 10980 and you would like to discuss your case confidentially with one of our criminal defense lawyers at (310) 943-1171.
"Acting Fraudulently" in California Game or Gambling Fraud
Acting fraudulently means acting dishonestly and with bad faith, as cheating, misleading and otherwise gaining an unfair advantage for the victim. In case a person won in a game, without playing tricks he can’t be guilty of game fraud. Defendant must be involved in a game where the victim doesn’t have a chance to win as a result of the game. An important element of the legal definition of gaming/gambling fraud is that the defendant must win money or property from the victim.
What is Considered as "Property" for Purposes of California Penal Code Section 332?
California Penal Code Section 332 acknowledges that games do not always include cash, or other tangible property. Property for purposes of Section 332 includes chips, markers, tokens, or anything else which has a monetary value.
Legal Defenses to California Penal Code 332
Common legal defenses to California Penal Code 332 include the following:
Lack of intent to defraud
Prosecution shall be able to prove is that the defendant had a specific intent to defraud the victim. In case the defendant lacks of fraudulent intent, he can’t be found guilty of this offenses.
First amendment defense
If the offense was through the fortune telling or any other similar activity then a first amendment defense can be used, and the defendant can argue that he was exercising his right to free speech. Though, there can be circumstances when fortune tellers can be criminally liable under this statute in case their conduct goes beyond entertainment and actually involves fraud.
Penalties for California Penal Code Section 332 Game/Gambling Fraud
Potential penalties for California Penal Code 332 gaming or gambling fraud depend on the monetary value of the property that the defendant obtained from the victim. If the money or the total value of the stolen property is $950 or less the gaming/gambling fraud can only be charged as a misdemeanor. In case the total value of the property is more than $950 then the fraud is treated as a wobbler and can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony.
Penalties for California Penal Code 332 Misdemeanor Conviction
Potential penalties for misdemeanor Penal Code 332 gaming or gambling fraud conviction in California include the following:
Up to six months in a county jail in case the value of property is $950 or less,
Up to one year in a county jail in case the value of property is more than $950; and/or
Fine of up to $1,000
Misdemeanor probation
Penalties for Felony Penal Code 332 Conviction
Potential penalties for felony Penal Code 332 gaming or gambling fraud conviction in California include the following:
Sixteen months, two or three years in a county jail and/or
Fine up to $5,000 for a first offense, or up to $10,000 for a second or subsequent offenses
Felony probation
California Gambling Defense Lawyer
Our California gambling defense lawyers are here to answer any questions If you or a loved one has been charged with Penal Code 332 PC gaming or gambling fraud and you would like to discuss your case confidentially with one of our California criminal defense attorneys, do not hesitate to contact our criminal defense lawyers at (310) 943-1171.
What are the Requirements for Design of Stairways Used During Construction in California?
According to the California Code of Regulations, the requirements for the design of stairways used during construction are as specified:
Temporary stairways used during construction (not meant to remain a permanent part of the property) are also required to be 24 inches in width and must have landings at each floor, or level, of at least 30 inches deep (in the direction of travel) and 24 inches wide at every 12 feet (3.7 m) or less of vertical rise. Workers must not use spiral, temporary stairways on location.
The stairways must be installed between 30 degrees to 50 degrees from horizontal.
The riser height and tread depth must be the same within each flight of stairs, and should not exceed 1/4 inch (0.6 cm).
If a stairway is placed near a door or gate opening, the stairway must have a platform between the swing of the door and the stairs of no less than 20 inches (51 cm).
All sides of the stairway must have railings.
Metal pan landings and metal pan treads must be secured in place before filling with concrete, or any other fortifying material.
The stairway must be free of dangerous, hazardous objects ( ex. jutting nails). In addition, if the stairway is slippery, this condition must be fixed before its usage.
What are the California Regulations for Stair Rails and Hand Rails?
The following general requirements by the California Code of Regulations apply to all stair rails and hand rails:
A stairway with four or more risers, or rising more than 30 inches (76 cm), must be fortified with: one handrail (minimum requirement) and a stair rail, top rail, and mid-rail, along each unprotected side. The stair rails and hand rails should be incorporated as to prevent injuries of the employees, provide an adequate handhold, and prevent the tearing of clothing; or any other punctures or lacerations. In addition, the stair rails, handrails and mid-rails must be constructed so as not to create hazard.
Handrails and top rails of the stairs must be able to endure, clearly without failure, at least 200 pounds (890 n) of weight when applied within 2 inches (5 cm) of the top in any downward or outward direction, at any point along the top edge.
The height of the stair rails should not be less than 34 inches and should not exceed 38 inches from the upper surface to the tread.
In the case that the top edge of the stair also serves as a handrail, the height should be at least 34 inches, and no more than 38 inches from the upper surface of the stair rail to the surface of the tread.
Mid-rails should preferably be located at a height midway between the top edge of the stair rail and the stairway steps. In addition, when materials such as screens, mesh, or others used in mid-rails, they are required to extend from the top rail to the stairway step; ensuring that there are no openings in the stair rail of more than 18 inches (46 cm) wide.
In the case of spiral and winding stairways, these must be equipped with a handrail to prevent walking on areas were the tread width is less than 6 inches (15 cm).
If a handrail has been placed as part of a temporary structure, it must have a minimum clearance of 3 inches (8 cm) between the handrail and walls, stair rails, and other objects.
California Regulations for Temporary Service of Stairways
The California Code of Regulations also describes the temporary service of stairways. The following are to be monitored at all times, except during stairway construction.
Individuals must stay off the stairway with pan stairs where the treads and/or landings are to be filled with concrete or other material.
Individuals must stay off the ‘skeleton’ of the stairway, such as metal stairs, where the permanent treads/landings are to be installed, unless the stairs are to be secured temporarily with solid material long enough to cover the entire skeleton area.
In addition treads for temporary usage must be made of wood or any other solid material that will withstand weight, and cover the full width and depth of the stair. These must also be replaced when needed (usually below the level of the top edge of the pan).
Glendale Construction Business Lawyers
If you have any questions regarding proper safety measures on the construction of stairwells and stairs, abiding with the California Code of Regulations, please do not hesitate to contact one of our very skilled, dedicated, and knowledgeable lawyers. We know that these very specific, and sometimes confusing, regulations are complex; thus, it is for this reason that we recommend talking with one of our experienced Glendale business law attorneys whom are experienced in will assist you in ensuring that your property stands with the law.
Keep the minor in a juvenile hall and let a judge review the case
Type of Hearings in California Juvenile Court
There are a number of hearings which take occur in the California Juvenile Court system including the following:
Detention hearing: The judge will determine whether the minor can be releases or must stay in custody the case is resolved. This is required if the juvenile is locked up for more than 2 days.
Fitness hearing: The judge will determine whether the minor’s case will be heard in juvenile delinquency court or should be transferred to adult court. In case the child is under 14 when he or she committed the crime the case should only be heard in juvenile delinquency court.
Adjudication Hearing: The judge reviews the probation officer’s report, the district attorney’s evidence, any other findings regarding the case and determines if the juvenile committed the offense.
Disposition hearing: In case the judge decides that the juvenile has committed the crime, there will be a disposition hearing for deciding the punishment.
Sentencing and Penalties in California Juvenile Court
The court has several sentencing options sentencing a juvenile as payment of a fine or restitution community service, informal probation, formal probation, California Division of Juvenile Justice (DJJ) commitment.
Cases Where Juvenile is Treated as an Adult Welfare & Institutions Code Section 707(b)
Under Welfare & Institutions Code Section 707(b) there are 30 serious crimes for which juveniles at least 16 years of age can be tried as adults. Criminal cases where a juvenile may be treated as an adult under Welfare & Institutions Code Section 707(b) include the following types of criminal cases:
Murder
Robbery
Arson causing damage or great bodily harm to an inhabited structure
Rape if done with force, violence or threat of great bodily injury
Lewd acts with a child under 14 if done with threat of serious bodily injury or violence
Carjacking
Forcible sexual penetration
Use of a weapon in commission of a felony
Torture
Drive-by shootings
In such cases the prosecutor files charges in juvenile court for determine the juvenile’s fitness. The judge must consider the following issues:
Severity and circumstances of the crime
Degree of juvenile’s criminal sophistication
Juvenile’s prior criminal history
Previous rehabilitation attempts
California Juvenile Defense Lawyer
Hire the most dedicated Glendale criminal defense lawyer who has experience with handling various juvenile cases. If you or your child has been convicted of a crime we invite you to give us a toll free call at (310) 943-1171.