California has overtime pay laws that apply to non-exempt employees. These workers are eligible for overtime pay if they work more than a typical workday or workweek in California. This article will provide information about the overtime pay laws in California. If they labor for more than 12 hours in a weekday, or for more than 8 hours on their seventh consecutive day of work, they may be entitled to double time pay, or twice the employee's regular rate.
What Are the Overtime Pay Laws in California?
Non-exempt employees must be paid at least 1.5 times their hourly rate for overtime work under California labor rules. Overtime pay is based on a salary, not an hourly wage and the calculation does not include bonuses or commissions.
In a single workday, you work for 8 hours.
In a single workweek, you work for 40 hours, or for 40 hours in a single week.
In a single workweek, you work for six days.
Non-exempt employees who have agreed to work an alternate weekly plan are also exempt. At least two-thirds of the impacted employees must consent to these schedules. Workers may be required to labor for up to 10 hours each day without accruing overtime under certain schedules. Employees who work on a different workweek plan are still entitled to overtime if they:
Work more than the alternate schedule's number of hours, or
In a single workweek, work more than 40 hours.
When Does an Employee Get Paid Double Time?
There are two types of overtime pay: time-and-a-half and double time. Time-and-a-half means that an employee gets paid 1.5 times their hourly wage for every hour they work over 40 hours per week. Double time means that an employee gets paid twice their hourly wage. When a non-exempt employee works, they start earning double time pay instead of merely overtime compensation:
More than 12 hours in a single day of work, or
More than 8 hours on their seventh day of employment
Martin, for example, is a construction worker. He is a full-time, non-exempt employee. His regular salary rate is $20 per hour. Martin's supervisor adds hours to his work schedule to fulfill a construction deadline. Martin works seven consecutive 14-hour days in a week, not including food or rest breaks. In the end, he worked for a total of 98 hours. Martin is entitled to time-and-a-half overtime pay of $30 per hour for the ninth through twelfth hours he worked for the first six days, in addition to his regular pay. He is also entitled to overtime premium, or double time pay, of $40 per hour for the thirteenth and fourteenth hours he worked for the first six days of work, as well as for the 14 hours he worked on the seventh day.
Exempt VS Non-Exempt Employees
Non-exempt employees are those who are covered by California's wage and hour rules, as well as federal legislation such as the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Exempt employees, on the other hand, are not covered by certain workplace legal protections. Non-exempt employees are covered by the following laws:
Laws governing minimum wages,
Rest and food breaks, and
Overtime pay
These vital legal protections are not available to exempt workers. In California, however, these workers are entitled to a minimum weekly compensation that is at least twice the state's minimum wage for full-time employment.
We Can Help You Receive the Compensation You Deserve!
If you or someone you know would like to understand further on California Overtime Pay Laws, feel free to give KAASS Law a call at 310.943.1171 and set up a consultation with our attorney in order to discuss your case further.
Yes, California has discrimination laws. Employers who discriminate against a protected class of employees or job candidates are breaking the law, according to the California Fair Employment and Housing Act. Victims of workplace discrimination have the right to sue their employer for monetary damages.
How Can I Tell Whether I've Been Treated Unjustly Due To Discrimination?
Evidence of discrimination in the workplace could include demonstrating that particular groups of employees are treated differently than others. It could also involve abrupt shifts in an employer's attitude toward an employee after learning that the individual belongs to a protected group. If you think you are being discriminated against, please look for the following examples:
Unprecedented shifts in work performance evaluations
Eliminated from meetings and events
Changes in work responsibilities or an increase/decrease in workload
Various types of rule enforcement involving workers from various backgrounds
Company's failure to discourage racist or sexist jokes in the workplace
Motorcycle accidents occur daily, frequently with disastrous results. Motorcyclists are more vulnerable to risks on the open road than car occupants, who are protected by a steel frame, airbags, and seatbelt restraint systems. There are many common types of motorcycle accidents and injuries that can happen on the road. Injuries vary from the severity of each collision. Motorcycle accidents and injuries can be common occurrences due to many factors such as speed, lack of protection, or being an unexpected obstruction. The article will explore some common types of motorcycle accidents and injuries that motorcyclists face while traveling throughout the roads.
What Are the Common Types of Motorcycle Accidents?
The number of uninsured drivers in the United States is believed to be around 32 million. This figure varies a lot depending on where you are in the country. This is sometimes determined by the cost of auto insurance. Other times, it's due to a lack of knowledge about which vehicle insurance company to choose.
Factors of Car Insurance Pricing
A variety of factors go into determining the cost of car insurance. It's also not uncommon to receive different quotes from different businesses. These can include the following:
The type of car that is covered by an insurance policy
How long has the policyholder been on the road?
The policyholder's age.
Driving record
When looking for vehicle insurance, there are a few terms you should be aware of. The phrase "premium" is one that you may come across. Simply put, this is the amount you must pay the insurance company to cover your vehicle. Deductible is another phrase for the same thing. You must pay this amount before the insurance company will pay out. You can reduce the overall cost of your insurance by increasing your deductible.
What Does Comprehensive Insurance Cover?
One of the more confusing policies is comprehensive insurance. This sort of insurance appears to cover all parts of an accident, however, it doesn't. In actuality, it only protects a vehicle against harm caused by something other than another vehicle. This includes the following:
Being involved in an automobile accident is already one of the most stressful events in your life. When you're already reeling, learning that the other motorist doesn't have insurance or has only limited coverage seems like a hit in the gut. You may not be able to fully compensate for your injuries due to no fault of your own. What options do you have? Take a look at the article below to find an outcome for you and your coverages.
How Are Uninsured and Underinsured Vehicles Protected in California?
Liability insurance is the only form of coverage that California drivers are obliged to have. The minimal standards are $15,000 for single-person injuries, $30,000 for multiple-person injuries, and $5,000 for damage to property. While it may be sufficient for minor incidents, a serious injury can easily exceed those limits, especially if specific medical attention is required. This includes surgery or if you are unable to work for an extended period of time. As a result, if you are hit by a driver who only has the bare minimum of insurance – much alone a driver who has breached the law and has no insurance at all - their liability insurance may not be enough to compensate you. It is theoretically feasible to seize the assets of the at-fault driver, but this only works in practice if there are assets to seize, and drivers who do not have insurance typically do not have large assets. Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage (UM/UIM) replaces or supplements the other driver's liability insurance if they don't have it. Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage also covers you if you are hurt by a hit-and-run driver who is never identified; after all, an unknown motorist is uninsured by default. In California, you are not obligated to get UM/UIM coverage, but your insurance carrier must offer it to you, and you must deny it in writing. We strongly advise you to have this coverage; it's usually inexpensive, and the few dollars you save on premiums are nothing compared to the tens or hundreds of thousands of dollars it could be worth if you're hit by an uninsured or underinsured driver.
Wage and hour violations are common, and often neither the employer nor the employee is aware that they are taking place. Wage and hour violations include unpaid wages, violations of California minimum wage laws, non-compensation or denial of regular meal and rest breaks, illegal wage deductions and payroll errors, late wage payment, denial of reimbursement for work-related expenses, failure to provide wage statements, failure to pay wages upon termination, and misclassification.
Wages For Overtime and Unpaid Regular Work
Attorneys frequently submit claims for unpaid regular and overtime salaries on behalf of individuals and groups of individuals. Regular and overtime pay are governed by regulations at the local, state, and federal levels, but in general, California's municipal and state laws safeguard employee earnings more than federal rules. Workers have protections from state and municipal laws that require they be compensated at least the minimum wage for their time worked. In California, regular and overtime pay are governed by regulations at the local, state, and federal levels. In general, California's municipal and state laws safeguard employee earnings more than federal rules.
Employers in California are required by law to give lunch or meal breaks to employees who work a certain number of hours.
What are the California Labor Laws Regarding Lunch Breaks?
Employees who work more than 5 hours a day are required by Labor Code 512 to take a 30-minute meal break. However, if the employee works over 5 hours per day but less than 6 hours and wishes not to take a meal break, the employer has the right to allow the employee to not take it. If an employee works more than 10 hours per day, a second meal break of at least 30 minutes must be provided. However, if the employee works less than 12 hours a day, he or she may waive their meal period, but only if they did not waive the first meal period.
Is My Lunch Break Compensated or Uncompensated?
Your employer is not compelled to compensate you for your lunch break in most cases. If an employee works for 5 or more hours in a shift, the employer is required to provide a lunch break, but the business is not compelled to pay the employee for the break time. Employees may be given a paid lunch break by some companies, but it is not required by California labor regulations for non-exempt employees. If they are not compensated, many employees may not want to take a lunch break. Employees may opt to leave work early. Even though they are not compensated for the break, an employee cannot waive his or her lunch break if he or she is working 6 or more hours each day. If an employee works fewer than 6 hours a day, they can waive their dinner break. During his or her lunch break, an employee who is not relieved of all duties is still regarded "on duty." This comprises individuals who have been relieved of all responsibilities yet are required to remain on the job. A meal interval spent "on duty" is counted as hours worked and must be rewarded at the employee's regular rate of pay. Only when the nature of the job precludes the employee from being relieved of all obligations and by written agreement are "on duty" lunch breaks permitted.
One of several risks of tractor-trailers is that they are significantly higher off the ground than passenger cars, and a smaller vehicle can wind up sliding under the trailer in the event of a collision. This is known as an underride collision, and if you've ever been in one, you know how dangerous they can be. When the front of one vehicle collides with the rear of another, it is possible for the first car to go underneath or above the second car. This often results in severe injuries because there are not any parts on top to absorb energy from an impact like seat belts or airbags. Underride has the potential to crush entire cars, leaving victims with severe and disfiguring injuries. Unfortunately, far too many of these collisions result in death. If you've been seriously injured or lost a loved one, you're in for a long and difficult journey.
How Is Liability Established During an Underride Collision?
Naturally, when a truck is rear-ended, the trucking business will argue that the back vehicle's driver is to blame. After all, truckers are no more capable of regulating the vehicle in front of them than any other driver. The truck driver and the trucking firm, on the other hand, are responsible for ensuring that their vehicle does not pose a hazard to other cars, including those approaching from behind. The following are some of the reasons a truck driver could be at fault for an underride collision:
It's an unnerving feeling when you're driving and all of a sudden your car stalls. When you're stranded with an undriveable vehicle on the highway, oncoming motorists are likely to be speeding. If the motorist is distracted, inattentive, or intoxicated, they may not be able to maneuver out of the way quickly enough to prevent colliding with you. Low visibility, bad weather, or a motorist's view being blocked by a large truck ahead of them can all contribute to a collision with your already damaged vehicle. In this article we'll discuss what should happen if you find yourself stranded on the highway with a vehicle that is undriveable.
How Do Collisions With Disabled Vehicles Occur?
If you're on the highway, the dangers are greater because other drivers will be speeding past at high speeds. In California, roadside and shoulder of the road crashes involving disabled automobiles may occur in the following scenarios:
A careless driver fails to notice your vehicle and crashes into it while you are inside.
While you are outside your vehicle, a careless driver fails to notice you and hits you.
Burn injuries are among the most painful and life-threatening injuries a person may sustain. Because of the seriousness of these injuries, medical therapy sometimes necessitates prolonged treatment and possibly a variety of surgeries performed, and even still, patients may be left with permanent scarring. Many burn damage sufferers also suffer from agony and psychological scars that make it nearly hard to live life as they had before.
How Do Burn Injuries Result?
Fires, on the other hand, aren't the only source of burn injuries. A burn injury can result from a variety of factors, including a defective product, a workplace accident, or negligence from another party. In general, the person or company who causes a burn injury will be held liable to the sufferer for his or her damages. Fires, as well as items and activities that might cause burns, are common in Los Angeles.
What Compensation Will a Burn Injury Sufferer Be Entitled To?
A burn injury is a sort of personal injury, and victims are allowed to pursue monetary damages for their physical injuries and financial losses through a personal injury claim. A sufferer of a burn injury may be entitled to compensation for:
Employers that are members of the same protected class as the employee are nonetheless permitted to discriminate. An African-American manager, for example, could prejudice against an African-American employee or candidate. A female employer can treat a female applicant unfairly because of her gender.
Is It Considered Discrimination If I've Never Been Hired?
Before an individual is ever hired, employment discrimination rules apply to job applications, job seekers, and interview circumstances. Improper job application forms or interview questions could be a symptom of probable employment discrimination. When an employer asks a person these questions, they may be breaking the law.
Nationality
Ancestry
Race/Religion
Sexual preference
Disability, either mental or physical
Record of Arrests
Employers may not force a candidate to take a medical or psychological assessment if no other prospective workers are required to do so, or if the examination is not job-related and in line with business requirements. An employer, on the other hand, may ask job applicants if they are capable of performing the job's essential functions and how they would carry out the duties. After an applicant has been granted a position, the employer can condition it on the applicant passing a medical exam or answering medical questions if all new workers in a similar job function must also answer these questions or undergo a medical exam.
After Being Discriminated Against, How Long Do I Have To File a Lawsuit Against My Employer?
It is a civil right under California law to be able to seek and keep work without being discriminated against on the basis of race, religion, sexual orientation, or other forms of unlawful discrimination. Employees who are discriminated against might launch a discrimination lawsuit against their employers. You only have a limited amount of time to initiate a lawsuit against your employer for discrimination in the workplace. The time restriction is determined in part by the manner in which your complaint was handled. However, depending on the circumstances, these dates may be extended or shortened. The time limits to file a lawsuit vary depending on if its a federal discrimination lawsuit or a California discrimination law suit. See below for details.
Violations of California's Discrimination Law
In general, you must file a complaint with the DFEH within three years of the latest act of discrimination or retaliation in the workplace. Before you can bring a case in civil court, you must first get a Right-to-Sue notice. You have one year from the date the state sends you a notice of your right to sue or does not pursue your claim to file a lawsuit in state court.
Violations of the Federal Discrimination Law
You have 180 days to file a federal employment discrimination complaint. However, if a state or local agency enforces employment discrimination statutes on the same premise as the EEOC, the period can be extended to 300 days. Employees in California would have 300 days to submit an EEOC complaint for the majority of employment discrimination claims. You must first get a notice of right to sue in order to file a federal employment discrimination claim. After receiving a notification of right to sue from the EEOC, the employee usually has 90 days to bring a civil case.
Discrimination Other Than Employment Discrimination
Aside from employment discrimination, there are other types of discrimination as well. Some of the other types of discrimination are related to housing, education, and finances such as loans or sales.
Have More Questions About Discrimination Laws?
If you or someone you know has been discriminated against at the workplace, feel free to contact KAASS Law today at 310.943.1171. Our specialized employment attorneys will be able to assist you with this matter.
Due to their lack of protection, motorcycle riders are extremely vulnerable when on the road. Because motorcycles are not protected, it is believed that they may suffer catastrophic injuries in an accident. Motorcycle accidents frequently result in the following injuries:
TBI occurs when an individual suffers a forceful blow to the head, resulting in intense shaking. A biker who is engaged in an accident suffers a significant injury, especially if they are not wearing a helmet. A person's physical and cognitive abilities will be impacted by a TBI. In order to fully recover from a TBI, the person must have many procedures. In some situations, the injury may have long-term consequences for the individual.
After a crash, a motorcycle rider is likely to make physical contact with the ground. They may break bones depending on the force of the strike. The most common portion of the body to be injured in a motorbike accident is the ribs.
When a motorcyclist's skin is scraped against the road, this painful injury occurs. Road burns aren't often fatal, but if they're not treated properly, infections can develop. Failure to seek medical help may result in permanent scarring on the pulled body part.
Internal Bleeding
Internal bleeding can occur when internal organs are damaged or pierced as a result of a strong force striking the body. Any area of the body might bleed internally. Internal bleeding is a hidden damage, thus it's critical to see a doctor following a motorbike accident. Even if you don't think you were seriously hurt in the accident, it's a good idea to go to the hospital and get checked out.
The spine is one of the most susceptible regions of the body. If it is subjected to a significant amount of force, it may become paralyzed permanently. If a motorcycle rider lands on their neck or back, there is a good risk they will get this injury. Basically, anything that has a strong impact on a person's back might cause injury to the spinal cord. An individual may suffer from a transient or permanent spinal cord injury, depending on the circumstances.
What Damages Result from a Motorcycle Accident?
Unfortunate events occur. You may be entitled to compensation for your losses if you were hurt as a result of someone else's negligence. Here's a quick rundown of the many types of losses. Damages are a form of monetary award made by a court of law to compensate an injured party for any losses or injuries experienced as a result of someone else's negligence.
Economic Losses
Economic damages are meant to recompense a plaintiff for losses that can be quantified in monetary terms. Economic damages are assessed by calculating the amount of out-of-pocket losses that an injured party has or would have as a result of their injuries. Find below examples of economic losses:
Medical Bills
Lost Wages
Loss of Earning Capacity
Non-Economic Damages
Non-economic damages are meant to cover losses that are considered subjective, but they do not always pay out-of-pocket expenses. Compensation for non-economic damages may include:
Emotional Distress
Pain and Suffering
Loss of Enjoyment of Life
Punitive Damages
Punitive damages are the third sort of damages that a California court may award. Punitive damages are designed to penalize the defendant and are only granted when the defendant's actions are particularly detrimental. Punitive damages are uncommon, accounting for approximately 5% of all judgements. Furthermore, there is no universally accepted formula for assessing and assigning punitive damages. Punitive damages are awarded at the discretion of the court and will vary depending on the facts of the case.
Contact a Los Angeles Attorney Today
A motorcycle accident lawyer can assist you in identifying concerns in your case. Without an adequate investigation, even the most straightforward case can pose complexities and impediments, and this inquiry should be conducted as quickly as possible after the collision. Feel free to give our office a call at 310.943.1171 or schedule a consultation by calling now!
Nothing covered by liability insurance is covered by comprehensive insurance. As a result, no medical expenses or car repairs incurred as a result of a traffic accident are covered. It also doesn't cover you if you collide with a stationary item like a mailbox or a wall. This form of coverage is optional for car owners. Comprehensive insurance is required for people who leased an automobile or took out a loan to buy one. In fact, it is frequently required by the lease or loan agreement's terms.
Are you Liable for the Accident?
You are liable if you are the cause of a car collision. In terms of money, this implies you'll have to pay for the victim's vehicle repairs and medical expenses. It is also known as minimum coverage and is the most basic type of affordable vehicle insurance. There are two types of liability insurance. Depending on the laws of your state, you may be required to obtain both. These two sections address the following topics:
Personal property damage
Other parties involved suffer bodily harm/physical damage.
Keep in mind that your responsibility only extends to the victim(s) and not to you. Furthermore, you will be responsible for paying for your own medical expenses and car repairs out of pocket.
What is Collision Coverage
Collision coverage can be considered as an extension of comprehensive coverage. It covers your vehicle even if you are not driving at the time of the collision. If your friend is driving at the time of the accident, collision insurance would cover the damage. This motor insurance, unlike comprehensive, covers collisions with unmovable object. Collision coverage, on the other hand, does not cover any damage to other vehicles involved in the accident, nor does it cover medical expenses.
What Auto Insurance Does Not Cover
Even if you have complete coverage, there are some things your policy won't cover. Wear and tear is an example of coverage that is often not covered. You will have to pay for it out of pocket if your car is experiencing general age-related difficulties or breakdowns. If you wish to add people aside from yourself to the policy, you'll have to do it separately. That implies your policy won't cover other passengers in your car or if you're driving someone else's car. Finally, if you work for a ridesharing firm as a contracted driver, you will not be insured. Uber and Lyft, for example, have extremely stringent insurance requirements. For this, you'll need specialized company insurance.
Have More Questions About Auto Insurance?
It is always preferable to get legal assistance if you are in an accident or are involved in a car insurance claim. In the event of an automobile accident, insurance firms are instructed to decrease payments. This may result in you not receiving the compensation you deserve. Give KAASS Law a call at 310.943.1171.
If you have uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage, your vehicle accident claim will proceed in the same way as any other, with your insurance company just acting as the other driver's insurer. Because California is a fault-based state, you must still prove that the other driver's negligence caused your injuries and that you suffered losses as a result of that negligence. If you don't have UM/UIM, we must make sure the insurance company offered you such coverage, as required by law, and that you declined it in writing. If this process isn't followed, they may have to cover your accident. We'll also look at additional options for reimbursement. The at-fault driver may have been covered by a family member's or employer's policy, or a third party, such as a vehicle manufacturer, which may have played a role in the collision.
Contact A Los Angeles Attorney Today
You are not on your own in this predicament. This can be a time-consuming and fact-intensive procedure, but we put in the effort to investigate all possible coverage and coordinate benefits to help you get the most out of your rehabilitation. The goal is to enlist the help of an expert car accident lawyer as soon as possible. Contact KAASS Law immediately to discuss your legal options if you were injured by an uninsured or underinsured driver in California. We will do everything we can to assist you in finding a way ahead. Our legal experts will carefully examine your issue and determine the best course of action for you.
While uncommon, an employer may provide cumulative vacation pay to an employee yet fail to pay out any accrued but unused vacation pay after the individual leaves the company. While California does not force businesses to provide vacation or vacation pay, if an employer chooses to grant and enable employees to accrue vacation time, the employee is entitled to be paid out any unused vacation time when the employee leaves the company. Because vacation pay cases can be tricky, we usually recommend consulting an attorney to assist you in determining whether or not you have been paid your vacation money. This usually necessitates a study of the relevant wage statements, accrued hours, and other pertinent data.
When are California's Required Overtime Laws in Effect?
Non-exempt employees in California may be entitled to obligatory overtime compensation if they work more than:
An eight-hour workday (or a ten-hour workday in a four-day "alternative workweek," or a twelve-hour day in a three-day "alternative workweek")
If non-exempt employees work more than eight hours in a single weekday, they are usually entitled to overtime pay. Non-exempt employees who work more than 10 hours in a single workday under an alternate workweek plan are normally entitled to overtime pay. Employees who work more than eight hours on a given workday are still entitled to overtime pay, even if they generally work eight or fewer hours each day on average. Also, persons who work less than eight hours each day on a regular basis are not eligible to overtime pay if they work the whole eight hours. They would be paid at their regular rate until they had worked for eight hours.
A workweek of 40 hours
If non-exempt employees work more than 40 hours in a single workweek, they are usually eligible to overtime pay. It's also worth noting that a worker's daily overtime hours do not count toward his or her weekly overtime hours. This means that before getting overtime pay for working more than 40 hours in a workweek, an employee must work at least 40 hours at a regular hourly rate (straight time pay), even if the person is already receiving overtime pay for working more than eight hours on a workday. This law prevents employees from pyramiding, which is when they are given double credit for the hours they labor. Also keep in mind those who work fewer than forty hours per week are not eligible for overtime pay if they work the full forty hours. They'd receive pay at their regular rate until they'd worked for forty hours.
In a workweek, six 6 days in a row
For the seventh consecutive day of work in a workweek, non-exempt employees are normally entitled to overtime pay. Employers, like workdays, get to choose when their workweek begins. Working seven days in a row does not automatically entitle employees to overtime if those seven days are spread across two different workweeks. Employers may assign various workweeks to different employees. Employers also cannot adjust workweeks in order to avoid paying employees overtime.
Have More Questions About Wages and Employer Violations?
Contact KAASS Law for more questions about wages and employer violations anytime. If you are an employee and can show that your employer violated any of the above wage and hour laws, and that you suffered damages as a result of the violation, you may have a claim for wage and hour violation under the relevant Industrial Welfare Commission Wage Orders, the new Fair Wage Act of 2016, PAGA, and the relevant California Labor Code sections.
Is it Legal for my Boss to Make Me "On Call" Throughout my Lunch Break?
Employees may not be required to continue working during a break or to be "on call" during a meal or rest period. Depending on the job, an employee may be required to stay "on-site" or in the workplace during their lunch break. Employees must be compensated at their usual rate of pay during "on-duty" meal periods. An "on duty" lunch break is only permissible if the following conditions are met: The nature of the job prohibits the employee from being relieved of all responsibilities; and The employee agrees in writing to remain on site during meal periods, with the written agreement stating that the employee may renounce the agreement at any time in writing.
Have More Questions About California Labor Laws and Lunch Breaks?
California labor laws are meant to protect employees from being exploited by their employers. Feel free to give KAASS LAW a call to get the compensation you need for your employment matters. To reach our office line, dial 310.943.1171 to book a consultation.
The truck was illegally parked in a dangerous area, or the trailer was projecting onto the road, posing a hazard to other motorists.
The truck's signal or stop lights were out, making it difficult for other drivers to detect the truck until it was too late to avert a collision.
The trucker performed a risky action in front of a car, such as a lane change, and the other motorist had little time to respond.
Before turning, changing lanes, or performing any other action that required the vehicle to slow down, the trucker failed to indicate.
A third party, such as another motorist, may be held liable for an underride collision. For example, say an automobile cuts in front of the truck, prompting the driver to slam on the brakes, producing a chain reaction in which a vehicle coming behind rear-ends the trailer – especially if the rear driver couldn't see the hazard in front since the truck itself was blocking the view. Most significantly, even if the wounded motorist was at fault for the accident, trucking companies and vehicle manufacturers have an obligation to guarantee that the trailer is secured from underride. Underride protections are now standard on most tractor-trailers, although they frequently fail, especially if they are not properly maintained or if they are struck from an angle. Depending on the specifics of the case, an injured person may be entitled to file a lawsuit against the manufacturer for product responsibility or against the trucking business for negligent maintenance.
Get Legal Assistance with an Underride Collision
Truck collisions are typically high-stakes situations, but they're even more so when underride is involved. Multiple insurance firms are usually always involved: the cab and trailer each have their own policies, as do the manufacturer and any other parties involved (such as other involved vehicles). The idea is to take immediate action before legal deadlines pass and crucial evidence vanishes or is lost. We can begin protecting your rights and advocating for your needs as soon as you speak with an attorney. There will be more obstacles in your way, but you won't have to tackle them alone. To talk with an expert underride accident attorney about your case, contact us immediately.
A motorist hits your crippled car on the side of the road due to a poorly managed construction site or improper road design.
A careless driver is navigating recklessly or violently switching lanes, causing them to collide with your crippled vehicle.
Is a Manufacturer Liable in the Event of a Disabled Vehicle Crash?
The law of product liability may apply in a circumstance where the driver had meticulously maintained the vehicle but it was nevertheless inoperable due to a manufacturing defect. Injured victims in California who are involved in a disabled vehicle accident may be eligible for compensation from a variety of sources, including the vehicle manufacturer. The issue of whether a manufacturer is liable in the event of a disabled vehicle crash can be complicated. Manufacturers are not liable for accidents that occur due to driver error, but they may be if the disabled vehicle was caused by design flaws or manufacturing defects. Manufacturers are not always aware of design flaws or manufacturing defects, and it's difficult to determine who is at fault in these cases because many factors contribute to an accident. However, there have been instances where manufacturers were found negligent after incidents.
Drivers on the Side of the Road: Some Recommendations
If you are trapped in the middle of the highway;
Keep your hood up to warn other drivers that something is amiss with your car.
The warning lights on your vehicle should be switched on.
If you opt to stay in your car, fasten your seatbelt.
Keep in mind that a car that is not paying attention to the road could hit you from behind.
Dial 911 from your cell phone if you are in a risky situation.
The California Comparative Negligence Doctrine
Even if you share some of the blame for your handicapped vehicle accident in California, you may still be entitled to seek compensation from the other at-fault driver. However, the amount of compensation you receive will be proportional to your degree of fault. For example, even if you are 90 percent to blame for an accident, you can still recover 10% of the losses from the other at-fault person. California uses a "pure comparative negligence" rule in this regard.
Get Legal Assistance for Your Disabled Vehicle Accident
If you or someone you know has been involved in a disabled vehicle accident, feel free to give our office a call and get the compensation you need for your case. To reach our office, dial (310) 943-1171.
A wrongful act made by an individual, company, or group that causes harm to another is known as negligence. Because California is a comparative negligence state, a burn injury victim may still be entitled to compensation even if he or she is deemed partially responsible for the accident. The possible damages for a burn injury victim will be lowered by level of fault. In order to prosecute a burn injury claim successfully, a victim must show that:
The defendant owes a duty of care to the burn injury sufferer.
This duty of care was breached by the defendant.
Common Types of Burn Injuries
If a burn accident occurs as a result of a hazard on their land, the property owner may be held accountable. All property owners and occupants are legally expected to keep their property in reasonably safe conditions under California premises liability law. This means that every property owner has a responsibility to maintain their property, correct any harmful circumstances, or at the very least issue adequate warnings about any hazardous conditions. The following are some of the most common causes of burn injuries:
Accidents in the kitchen
Accidents on the jobsite
Accidents involving fireworks
Accidents in automobiles
Accidents in restaurants
Burns from a tanning salon
Burns caused by chemicals
Distribution of Faulty Products
A corporation that manufactures or sells a faulty product that results in a burn damage may be held accountable for any losses incurred. Anyone participating in the chain of distribution, including product designers, producers, and retailers, can be held strictly accountable for accidents caused by a faulty product, according to product liability law. The following are some of the most common issues in strict liability cases:
Errors that occurred during the design process
Defects in the manufacturing process are a common occurrence.
There aren't enough cautions or instructions.
After a burn injury, a sufferer must establish the following in order to win a product liability lawsuit:
This product was used in a reasonable manner by a burn damage survivor.
A defective product was conceived, manufactured, or sold by the defendant.
A significant factor that contributed to a burn injury victim's losses was a product defect.
When the product left the defendant, it already had a design, manufacturing, or warning flaw.
Contact a Los Angeles Attorney Today
If you or someone you know has been injured, feel free to reach out to our office at (310) 943-1171.