According to California Penal Code Section 415 the crime of disturbing the peace occurs whenever a person unlawfully fights or challenges another one to fight in public; intentionally disturbs another one with loud and unreasonable noise; or, uses offensive words to provoke violence in public.
Fighting or challenging another person to a fight in a public place
The prosecutor must establish the following elements to prove that defendant disturbed the peace by fighting or challenging another person to a fight in a public place:
Defendant intentionally and unlawfully fought or challenged another person to fight.
When the fight occurred or the challenge was made defendant and another person were in a public place
Defendant did not act in self-defense or in the defense of another one.
Intentionally disturbing another person by loud and unreasonable noise
The prosecutor must establish the following elements to prove that defendant disturbed the peace by intentionally disturbing another person by loud and unreasonable noise:
Defendant intentionally disturbed another person by causing loud and unreasonable noise
There was a present and clear danger of immediate violence or
The noise was used for disrupting lawful activities.
Using offensive words to provoke violent reaction in public
The prosecutor must establish the following elements to prove that defendant disturbed the peace by using offensive words to provoke violent reaction in public:
Defendant used offensive words that were likely to provoke an immediate violence and provoke another person to react violently
There was a present and clear danger that another person would immediately erupt into violence.
“Offensive words” are determined on a case-by-case basis. Words that are profane, vulgar, abusive, rude or disrespectful by themselves can’t result in a disturbing the peace charge. The words must have been told in a way to provoke a violent response.
Legal Defenses to a Disturbing the Peace Charges
Defendant didn’t act intentionally
In case the defendant did not act maliciously, willfully, with intention of inciting violence and he reasonably believed that his words won’t provoke a violent reaction, he can’t be found guilty of disturbing the peace.
Defendant was acting in self- defense
In terms of unlawful fighting, defendant can’t be found guilty of disturbing the peace in case he was acting is self-defense or in defense of another person.
Defendant was falsely accused and wrongly arrested
There are number of reasons when a defendant can be falsely accused of disturbing the peace. These usually arise in the context of fights with neighbors, domestic disputes or fights with drunk people, who claim that defendant took a swing at them or challenged them to a fight.
Defendant was engaged in a constitutionally protected activity
In case defendant’s speech or conduct was protected by the right to free speech under the First Amendment to the US Constitution he is not guilty of disturbing the peace.
Penalties for violating California Penal Code Section 415
Under PC Section 415 disturbing the peace is a wobbler offense, and can be brought as either an infraction or a misdemeanor, depending on defendant's criminal history and the case facts.
Infraction
In case the defendant pleads guilty to an infraction he must pay a fine of up to $250.
Penalties for Misdemeanor Conviction:
Up to 3 months in a county jail
A fine of up to $400
Probation
Penalties for disturbing the peace on school grounds
In case the defendant disturbed the peace on school ground and was not registered as a student or employee at that school he will get a misdemeanor conviction.
If the defendant had previously committed this offense or any other criminal offenses that took place on school grounds he can face:
Up to 3 months in a county jail
A fine of up to $1000.
If you have been arrested for disturbing the peace, a California criminal defense attorney from KAASS LAW can provide you with legal assistance.
According to California Penal Code 245.6 (PC-245.6) it is illegal to participate in initiation activities that are likely to cause serious bodily injury to a current, former or prospective student.
The law applies to any student body or student organization regardless of whether it is officially recognized by an educational institution or not.
To be Found Guilty of Penal Code 245.6 Hazing in California
The following elements of the crime must be proven by a prosecutor.
Defendant participated in activity that was part of an initiation ritual into a student organization or body
Defendant knew or reasonably should have known that the activity was likely to cause serious bodily injury
Hazing activity took place at a school or school setting
Hazing activity was not a school sanctioned event or a part of a customary school’s athletic event
Initiation or Pre-Initiation Ceremony in California Hazing Cases
Hazing must be a part of an initiation or pre-initiation ceremony and must be focused either on people seeking membership to the group or on people who have just joined the group.
Under California Penal Code 417, it is illegal to draw or exhibiting a deadly weapon in a threatening or rude manner in the presence of another person.
To Be Found Guilty of Penal Code Section 417 Brandishing a Weapon
Prosecutor must establish the following elements of the crime are proved for convicting defendant under Penal Code Section 417
Defendant took out, exhibited or drew a firearm or other deadly weapon in the presence of another person
Defendant did so in a rude, angry or threatening manner, or did so unlawfully while engaged in an argument or fight
Defendant was not acting in self-defense or in defense of another person.
Deadly weapon is any instrument, object or weapon that is inherently deadly or one that is used in such a way that it likely to cause great bodily injury or death. Examples of deadly weapons can include razor blades, knives, pipes and attack dogs.
What is Considered a "Firearm" Under Penal Code Section 417 PC
For the purposes of Penal Code Section 417 PC a firearm is any device designed to be used as a weapon, from which a projectile is expelled or discharged through a barrel by the force of an explosion or other form of combustion. Examples of firearm can include rifles, pistols, shotguns and handguns. The displayed or exhibited firearm does not have to be loaded. Defendant can face charges for brandishing a weapon in case he waves an unloaded gun around in a frenzied or angry or manner.
According to California Penal Code Sections 4852.01 - 4852.21 (PC-4852.01) to (PC-4852.21) Certificate of Rehabilitation is a court order that attests to a person’s rehabilitation since his conviction for a particular sex misdemeanor or a felony for which he served state prison time.
Certificate of Rehabilitation doesn’t erase or seal person’s criminal record, but, it does limit the negative effects of criminal record.
Eligibility For Certificate of Rehabilitation
Eligibility for getting a Certificate of Rehabilitation include the following
Person must have continuously live in California for the past 5 years since his release or for 3 years in case he was on parole
Additional waiting period has passed since person was released
Person has not been jailed or imprisoned since the end of his sentence
Person is not currently on probation for a felony conviction.
Person is not deemed ineligible to obtain a California Certificate of Rehabilitation.
Person must have lived a custody-free life
Person must show proof of rehabilitation and convince the judge that he deserve to exercise all the civil and political rights of citizenship.
When is Someone Not Eligible for a Certificate of Rehabilitation
A person wont be eligible for a Certificate of Rehabilitation in case such as
Under California Penal Code 21a and 664 (PC- 21a) and (PC-664)an attempt crime is an act of intending to commit a crime and taking direct but ultimately ineffective steps toward committing that crime.
According to Judicial Council of California’s Criminal Jury Instructions prosecutor must establish the following elements for proving that defendant attempted a crime:
Defendant specifically intended to commit a crime
Defendant took a direct but ineffective step toward the commission of that crime
Specific Intent
Defendant can’t be found guilty of a crime of attempt unless it can be proven that he had a specific intent to commit the underlying crime. Defendant can commit the crime of attempt even if he has changed his mind before actually completing the crime.
Direct Step Toward the Commission of a Crime
Direct step requires more just preparing or planning to commit a crime, or obtaining or arranging for something needed to commit crime.
According to California Vehicle Code 14601 (VC-14601), it is illegal to knowingly drive a motor vehicle at any time while the license or driving privileges are suspended or revoked.
Prosecution Must Establish the Following to Convict of VC 14601
Prosecution must establish the following elements to convict the defendant of driving with a suspended license
Defendant drove a motor vehicle while his driving privileges were suspended or revoked for a valid reason
Defendant knew that his driving privileges were suspended or revoked.
“Knowledge" Under California VC Section 14601
Prosecutor can prove the knowledge of suspended or revoked license in case the following is true:
California Department of Motor Vehicles mailed a notice to defendant informing him that the driver’s license had been suspended or revoked
Notice was sent to the most recent address reported by the defendant to the DMV, or any more recent address reported by him, a law enforcement agency or a court
Under California Penal Code Section 182 conspiracy is an agreement between two or more people to commit a crime and an action taken by one or more parties of a conspiracy in furtherance of the criminal objectives of the conspiracy.
Prosecutor must prove the following elements for convicting defendant in conspiracy:
Defendant deliberately entered into an agreement with another person or persons for committing a crime
Defendant committed an overt act in furtherance of the agreement
The overt act was committed in California
The Overt Act in California Conspiracy Charges
The overt act is an act that is completed in order to help the group to accomplish the agreed upon crime. The act should be performed after the defendant entered into the agreement and before the crime is completed.
The overt act is something more than the act of planning or agreeing to commit a crime, but it is not a crime itself. The overt act can be something as trivial as renting a car, writing a letter or making a phone call.
Criminal Liability under Penal Code Section 182
Criminal Liability under Penal Code Section 182 are as follows
According to California Penal Code Section 69 resisting an executive officer is illegal.
Furthermore, it is illegal to attempt, by means of any threat or violence, to prevent or deter an executive officer from performing his duty or intentionally resist, by the use of violence or force, such officer in performance of his duty.
Resisting Arrest under PC Section 148(a)
Though the crime is closely related to the crime of resisting arrest under PC Section 148(a), resisting an executive officer is considered a much more serious crime in California. Unlike resisting arrest PC 69, resisting an executive officer requires actual violence or a threat of violence.
Resisting an Executive Officer Covers Two Different Offenses
Resisting an Executive Officer covers two different offenses including
Intentionally and willfully attempting to prevent or deter an executive officer from performing his duties and
Resisting an executive officer in the performance of his duties by using violence or force.
According to California Penal Code 273a, child endangerment is crime that involves putting a child into a dangerous situation or allowing another person to do so, without taking reasonable steps to protect him from injury and harm.
Elements of California Penal Code 273a Child Endangerment
Prosecutor must establish the following elements to prove that defendant committed child endangerment.
Defendant willfully imposed unjustifiable mental suffering or physical pain on a child, caused such suffering or pain or allowed such suffering or pain to occur when the child was in his custody.
Defendant acted in a way that was likely to produce great bodily injury or death upon a child
Defendant was criminally negligent
Defendant did not act reasonably while disciplining the child.
Willfully means on purpose or willingly. It does not necessarily mean that defendant specifically had intention to cause harm or violate the law
Unjustifiable physical pain or mental suffering is pain or suffering which is not reasonably necessary or excessive under the circumstances.
In case all other elements are met the following hazing actions can be considered criminal:
Physical beatings
Extreme sleep deprivation
Forced drinking of copious amounts of alcohol
Eating foods designed to induce vomiting
Drinking and driving
Running for extended periods of time
Eating garbage
Serious bodily injury
Under California criminal law “serious bodily injury" is a serious impairment of physical condition. Examples include, but are not limited to:
Loss of consciousness
Impairment or loss of function of an organ or another body part
Concussion
Bone fracture
Serious disfigurement
Wound requiring extensive suturing
Activities that result exclusively in embarrassment or emotional injury do not count as hazing under Penal Code Section 245.6.
Penalties for violating California Penal Code 245.6
Penalties for violating California Penal Code Section 245.6 are as follows
Misdemeanor Penalties for Penal Code 245.6
In California law crime of hazing is considered a misdemeanor offence when it does not actually result in serious bodily injury to anyone. The penalties are the following:
Up to one year in a county jail
A fine from $100 to $5,000
Wobbler Offense Under Penal Code 245.6
In case hazing has caused death or serious bodily injury, then everyone who personally participated in the crime of hazing can be charged with a wobbler. Prosecutor can choose to charge it as either a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the defendant’s criminal history and the case facts.
Penalties for hazing as a misdemeanor will be the same as above mentioned.
Penalties for Felony Conviction of Penal Code 245.6
Penalties for Felony conviction of Penal Code 245.6 include
Sixteen months, two or three years in a county jail
Possible sentence realignment under Penal Code Section 1170(h)
Juvenile Court System
Because hazing takes place in a school setting usually the defendants are under the age of 18, and instead of being tried in criminal courts their case will generally be handled in the California juvenile court system. The penalties for a person under the age of 18 are less harsh and are aimed more to rehabilitate him rather than punish. Potential penalties for a juvenile offender are the following:
Deferred entry of judgment for dismissal of charges after completion of court-ordered program
Informal probation
Probation at a facility for youthful offenders or a formal probation at home
California Criminal Hazing Defense Lawyer
Have you been arrested for hazing? If you are in or around Los Angeles County, a Glendale criminal defense attorney at KAASS LAW can provide you with legal assistance.
According to Penal Code Section 417 PC, the defendant must draw or exhibit the weapon in the presence of another person. The defendant can be charged even if he didn’t point the weapon at another one, didn’t fire the gun or the alleged victim didn’t saw the weapon.
Defenses to California Penal Code Section 417 Charges
Defenses to California Penal Code Section 417 charges include
Defendant did not exhibit a deadly weapon in the presence of another one
Defendant was acting in self-defense or in the defense of another person by drawing or exhibiting a deadly weapon
Defendant was showing the weapon to someone in a non-threatening manner
Defendant was falsely accused by the alleged victim.
Penalties for violating California Penal Code Section 417
Under PC Section 417 brandishing a deadly weapon other than a firearm is considered misdemeanor punishable by minimum 30 days and up to one year in a county jail.
There are numerous circumstances that can increase the sentence:
PC 417(a)(2)(A): Brandishing an Unloaded Firearm
In case the defendant used an unloaded firearm such as a revolver or a pistol to threaten another person in public, the sentence will increase to:
Minimum 90 days and up to one year a county jail
A fine of up to $1,000
PC 417(b): PC 417.3 Brandishing a Loaded Firearm
In case the defendant threatened another person with a loaded firearm he will face a felony with 16 months to 3 years sentence in a county jail.
PC 417.6(a): Brandishing a Weapon or Firearm Causing Serious Bodily Injury
In case the defendant purposely caused injury to another person while committing the crime, he can be additionally charged with:
A misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in a county jail, or
A felony, punishable by up to 3 years in the state prison.
PC 417(c): Brandishing a Firearm in the Presence of a Peace Officer
In case the defendant threatened a peace officer on duty with a firearm he can be charged with:
A misdemeanor, punishable with a minimum of 9 months in ta county jail, or
A felony with 16 months to 3 years in in the state prison.
PC 417.8 Brandishing a Firearm with Intent to Resist Arrest
In case the defendant attempted to resist arrest or help another person to resist arrest by brandishing a firearm he can face a felony, punishable by 2, 3 or 4 years in the state prison.
California Criminal Defense Attorney
Do you require legal help from a lawyer near you? If you are located near Los Angeles, California, our criminal defense attorneys at KAASS LAW can provide you with the services you require.
Received a misdemeanor conviction for a crime other than a sex crime listed in Penal Code 290
Was undergoing compulsory life parole
Was convicted with a federal offense or with any crime outside of California
Is currently serving in the U.S. military
Was sentenced with the death penalty
OR in case he was convicted of any of the following crimes:
Felony sexual battery
Felony statutory rape
Felony pimping or pandering
Sexual assault or rape
Sexual assault of a child
Lewd acts with a child
Continued sexual abuse of a child
Assault with the intent to commit a sex crime
Child molestation
Oral copulation by force or with a child
Sex act with a child under the age of 10
Child molestation
Kidnapping with the intent to commit a sex crime
Benefits of Certificate of Rehabilitation
Benefits of Certificate of Rehabilitation include the following
Increases person’s ability to secure state licenses
Restores civil rights, except for 2nd Amendment rights
Serves as a hard evidence for employers that person has rehabilitated
Prohibits employers from asking about conviction
Prevents conviction from being used to impeach person as a witness
Removes the requirement to register as a sex offender
Limits of Certificate of Rehabilitation
Second Amendment Rights
In case a person was convicted of a felony, he will be denied his Second Amendment rights—the right to posses or own firearms. The only way to restore these rights is a Governor’s Pardon. After getting a Certificate of Rehabilitation a person is eligible to apply for a Governor’s Pardon.
Public Record
A certificate of rehabilitation, unlike an expungement, does not automatically remove person’s conviction from public databases.
Person’s past convictions still counts as a prior offense in case he commits a crime again. Additionally he must disclose his conviction if applying for a job with the State Lottery Commission, if running for public office, or if applying for a professional license.
When is a Person Eligible to Apply for a Certificate of Rehabilitation?
Depending on the crime the main waiting period is 7, 9 or 10 years.
10 years waiting period is for any sex offense that required a person to register as a sex offender under state law.
9 years waiting period is for the following crimes: aggravated kidnapping, homicide, assault with force likely to cause great bodily injury, acts involving explosive devices or devices that cause mass mayhem, acts or omissions that cause another person’s death under the Military & Veteran’s Code, train wrecking or derailing, and any conviction that carries life sentence.
7 years waiting period is for all remaining convictions.
Process of Applying for Certificate of Rehabilitation in California
The process of applying for the Certificate of Rehabilitation in California include the following filing a petition, obtaining a criminal record copy. proving evidence of rehabilitation, and attending the hearing.
Filling the petition
According to California Penal Code Section 4852.06 person must fill the petition for Certificate of Rehabilitation in the Superior Court of his current county of residence. Person must notify the district attorney in his county of residence, as well as the district attorney of each county in which he was convicted of a felony. The notice must identify all crimes for which he is requesting rehabilitation.
Obtaining a criminal record copy
The court will require detailed information about person’s criminal history and the crimes for which he is seeking rehabilitation. Person can get a copy of his criminal record at the court where he was convicted or at the California Department of Corrections.
Providing evidence of rehabilitation
Person will have to provide evidence for proving that he has made positive changes in his life. Evidence can include:
Completion of alcohol and drug counseling
Permanent employment or education
Residency in California
Completion of domestic violence counseling
Voluntary participation in behavioral counseling
Volunteering in local community
Providing recommendations from community officials, employers , friends and family members
Attending the hearing
If the Superior Court schedule a hearing to consider the petition it will notify the Governor’s office and the district attorney involved in person’s conviction. The judge will consider testimony and presented evidence. This also includes the opposing arguments offered by the state.
Are you in need of legal assistance with receiving a Certificate of Rehabilitation in the state of California? Our lawyers in Los Angeles, California at KAASS LAW can provide you with all the services that you need.
A direct step goes beyond preparation and planning and shows explicit and definite intent to commit a crime. It is not a simple desire to commit a crime; it must be an obviously evident step toward the commission of the crime that would have come to fruition. In case the plan is abandoned at any time before the direct step, the defendant cannot be found guilty.
Differences Between Conspiracy and Attempt Crimes in California
Under California PC defendant is guilty of conspiracy when:
He intentionally entered into an agreement with one or more other people to commit a crime
He committed an overt act in furtherance of that agreement
Subsequently, conspiracy requires an agreement with another person while there is no such requirement in an attempt crime. And the “overt act” does not need to be as a direct step toward committing the crime, it can just be an act of preparation to commit a crime.
Common attempt crimes in California:
Attempted Murder: California Penal Code Section 664/187
Attempted Robbery: California Penal Code Section 664/211
Attempted Rape: California Penal Code Section 664/261
Attempted Burglary: California Penal Code Section 664/459
Attempted Kidnapping: California Penal Code Section 664/207
Attempted Theft: California Penal Code Section 664/484
Penalties for Attempt Crime Penal Code 664
Under California PC Section 664 attempted crime can be charged as either a misdemeanors or felony offense, depending on the underlying crime. Potential penalties for most attempted crimes include:
Half the potential county jail or California state prison sentence for the underlying offense
Half the maximum potential fines for the underlying offense
The general rule is that the maximum sentence for an attempted crime depends on the maximum sentence for the crime the defendant is alleged to have attempted.
Here are few exceptions to the rule:
In case the crime of attempting carries a potential sentence of either life in prison or the death penalty, defendant will be sentenced to five, seven, or nine years in California state prison
In case the defendant is convicted of attempted murder in the first degree (willfully and with premeditation) he will be sentenced to life in prison with the possibility of parole.
In case the attempted murder was made against a peace officer, a firefighter or custodial officer defendant will receive a sentence of fifteen years to life in state prison, with an added mandatory minimum sentence without parole for 15 years.
Have you been arrested for a crime in or around Los Angeles County, California? If so, a Glendale criminal defense lawyer from Kaas Law can provide you with legal assistance today.
These devices include revolvers pistols, shotguns, handguns, rocket launchers, Tasers and flare guns. However, pellet guns, BB guns and unloaded “antique” firearms do not count as firearms for purposes of Penal Code 26500.
People who are prohibited from possessing or acquiring a firearm:
Persons convicted of a felony
Persons convicted of some misdemeanor offenses
Persons addicted to drugs
Persons suffering from mental illness
Persons with at least two convictions under California PC 417 Brandishing a weapon
Persons under age of 18
In case a person is prohibited from owning a gun, he is also prohibited from owning ammunition. Person who has a right to own a firearm must also possess a valid firearm safety certificate.
People who are exempt from prosecution under PC Section 26500:
Persons acting pursuant to operation of law or a court order
Law enforcement officers
Military agencies
Persons who sell or transfer firearms to federally licensed dealers
Persons engaged in the infrequent transfer of personal firearms at guns shows
Persons who get rid of inherited firearms
Shooting ranges that temporarily loan firearms
Persons who provide unloaded prop firearms for use in plays or movies
Person who provide a firearm to a gunsmith for repairs.
Requirement for obtaining a firearm license
Requirement for obtaining a California firearm license are as follows:
Valid firearms license
Business license required by local municipality
Seller’s permit issued by the State Board of Equalization
Certificate of Eligibility issued by the Department of Justice
One-year license issued by local authorizing agency
One-year license is on a form prescribed by the state Attorney General’s Office. It must clearly state “Valid for Retail Sales of Firearms” and include an endorsement by the local authorizing agency.
These rules apply to generic firearms and not specific types of weapons such as grenades, destructive devices, machine guns, short-barreled rifles or shotguns and “dangerous weapons” or assault weapons, for which a specific license is required.
Failure to Maintain the Firearm License in California
Failure to maintain the license can subject a person to revocation of his license. In case person sells, leases or transfers a firearm without a valid permission he will face prosecution for violating California PC Section 26500.
Penalties for California Penal Code 26500 Violation
In California the unlicensed sale of a firearm is a misdemeanor with the following penalties:
Up to six months in a county jail
A fine up to $1,000.
The punishment is for each firearm the defendant sells without a valid license.
Glendale Criminal Defense Lawyer
Have you been convicted of a crime related to firearms? If so, it would be a wise idea to face your court case with the assistance of a law firm. If you are located in or around Los Angeles County, a Glendale criminal defense lawyer at KAASS LAW can help you achieve positive results in court.
Video About Selling Firearm without a Valid License
Notice was not returned to the DMV as unclaimed or undeliverable
California statutes Driving with Suspended or Revoked License
California statutes on driving with suspended or revoked license include the following
Vehicle Code Section 14601
Under this section it is illegal to drive on a revoked or suspended license due to alcohol or drug abuse, mental or physical liability, reckless driving, or being declared an incompetent or negligent driver.
Penalties for First Offense for Vehicle Code Section 14601
Penalties for first offense for violating Vehicle Code Section 14601
Five days to six months in a county jail
Fine from $300 to $1000 plus penalty assessments
Probation
Penalties for Second Offense Under Vehicle Code Section 14601
Penalties for Second Offense Under Vehicle Code Section 14601
Ten days to one year in a county jail
Fine from $500 to $2000 plus penalty assessments
Vehicle Code Section 14601.1
Under this section it is illegal to drive on a suspended or revoked license when defendant knows about the suspended or revoked license for any reasons that are not mentioned in sections 14601(a), 14601.2 or 14601.5 of the Vehicle Code.
Penalties for first offense:
Up to six months in a county jail
Fine from $300 to $1000 plus penalty assessments
Probation
Penalties for second offense within 5 years
Five days to one year in a county jail
Fine from $500 to $2000 plus penalty assessments.
Vehicle Code Section 14601.2
Under this section it is illegal to drive on a suspended or revoked license because of a DUI conviction.
Penalties for First Vehicle Code Section 14601.2 Offense
Penalties for first violation offense under Vehicle Code Section 14601.2 include the following
Ten days to six months in a county jail
Fine from $300 to $1000 plus penalty assessments
Probation
Penalties for second violation offense under Vehicle Code Section 14601.2
Penalties for second violation offense under Vehicle Code Section 14601.2 include the following
Thirty days to one year in a county jail
Fine from $500 to $2000 plus penalty assessments
Probation
Vehicle Code Section 14601.3
Under this section defendant can be declared a “habitual traffic offender" in case his driver's license was suspended or revoked during a twelve month period and he was convicted or involved in any combination of the following offenses:
Two or more serious driving-related crimes
Three or more general moving violations
Three or more accidents where another person was injured and the total damage to the property was at least $750
Penalties for first offense
30 days in a county jail
Fine of $1000 plus penalty assessments.
Penalties for second or subsequent offense:
Six months in a county jail and
Fine of $2000 plus penalty assessments
Three-year license revocation for "habitual traffic offenders"
Vehicle Code Section 14601.4
Under this section it is illegal to drive on a suspended or revoked license pursuant to 14601.2 and cause injury to a person other than the driver.
Penalties for first offense:
Ten days to six months in a county jail
Installation of an ignition interlocking device in defendant’s vehicle
Vehicle Code Section 14601.5
Under this section it is illegal to drive on a suspended or revoked license based on refusing sobriety tests or BAC levels too high.
Penalties for first offense:
Up to 180 days in a county jail
Fine from $300 to $1000 plus penalty assessments
Probation
Penalties for second offense within 5 years:
Ten days to six months in a county jail
Fine from $500 to $2000 plus penalty assessments.
If you are in need of legal assistance with a court case in California, our attorneys at KAASS LAW would be happy to assist you.
Conspiracy and the target crime of the conspiracy are two different charges. Defendant can be convicted of a conspiracy even if the crime was not committed.
Defendant is liable for all the crimes he has planned to commit, with no importance which member commits the crime.
For being convicted defendant doesn’t have to personally know the roles or identity of all other members of conspiracy.
Defendant is not liable for the acts of other members of conspiracy that are performed after reaching the goal of the conspiracy
Defendant is not liable for the acts of another person who is not a member of the conspiracy even if his acts helped to reach the goal of the conspiracy.
Penalties for violating California Penal Code Section 182
Under California Penal Code Section 182 there are four types of penalties for different types of conspiracies.
Conspiracy against a government official
In case the defendant is guilty of conspiring to commit a crime against a governmental official he will face a felony conviction, punishable le by five, seven or nine years imprisonment in a jail.
Conspiracy to commit fraud
In case the defendant is guilty of conspiring to defraud or cheat another person out of property or money he will face a wobbler, with either a misdemeanor or a felony conviction, depending on the case facts and his criminal history.
Penalties for Misdemeanor Conspiracy Conviction
Penalties for Misdemeanor Conspiracy Conviction include the following
Up to one year in a county jail
Fine up to $10,000
Penalties for Felony Conspiracy Conviction
Penalties for Felony Conspiracy Conviction include the following
Sixteen months, two or three years in county jail
Fine up to $10,000
Conspiracy to Commit More Than One Felony
In case the defendant is convicted of committing two or more felonies which have different punishments and the commission of those felonies constitute but one crime of conspiracy, the punishment must be that prescribed for the felony which has the severe sentence.
All Other Acts of Conspiracy
In case the defendant is guilty of any other acts of conspiracy, he will face a wobbler conviction, punishable in the above described manner. The only exception is a conspiracy to commit identity theft where the fine may be imposed to $25,000.
Each of the two crimes has a separate set of elements that the prosecution must establish to convict the defendant.
The elements of attempting to deter an executive officer are the following:
Defendant unlawfully used violence or force for preventing or deterring an executive officer from performing his lawful duties
Defendant had intention to prevent or deter the executive officer from performing his duties
The elements of resisting an executive officer in the performance of his duties by using violence or force are the following:
Defendant used force to resist an officer
The executive officer was performing his lawful duty at the time
Defendant was aware that the executive officer was performing his duty
Violence or Force Under Penal Code Section 69
For purposes of PC Section 69, force does not need to cause an injury or harm to a person.
Therefore, even touching in an offensive or rude manner will be enough to constitute violence. However, in order for violence to be a PC Section 69 violation, it must actually deter or prevent an officer from performing his lawful duty.
What is An Executive Officer?
An Executive Officer is any governmental official who is authorized to use his discretion to carry out a lawful duty.
Examples of Executive Officers
Examples of executive officers include:
Law enforcement officers such as police officers sheriff’s deputies
Judges
Elected officials
District attorneys
Public defenders
The lawful duties of an executive officer’s are those ones that he is tasked with performing as a requirement of his profession.
Defenses for California Penal Code 69 Charges
Defenses for California Penal Code 69 charges include the following
No intent
For convicting defendant of this crime, the prosecutor must prove that he indented to resist or prevent the executive officer from performing his duties. Thus, it a valid defense if there is no evidence that shows defendant's intention when he acted in such manner.
Unlawful conduct
In case the defendant was attempting to prevent an executive officer’s conduct that was unlawful, he can't be found guilty of the offense, as executive officer is not protected while performing unlawful or illegal conduct.
Self-defense
In case the executive officer was using illegal force against defendant, he was entitled to exercise his right to defend himself by using reasonable force.
Penalties for Violating California Penal Code Section 69
In California a crime of resisting an executive officer is a "wobbler" which can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the case circumstances and defendant's criminal history.
Penalties for Misdemeanor Penal Code 69 Conviction
Penalties for misdemeanor Penal Code 69 conviction are the following:
Up to one year in a county jail
A fine up to maximum $10,000
Penalties for Felony Penal Code 69 Conviction
Penalties for Felony Penal Code 69 conviction are the following:
16 months, two or three years in a county jail
A fine up to maximum $10,000
Criminal Defense Lawyer in Glendale, CA
Do you or a loved one require legal assistance in California? Get in touch with the experienced lawyers in Los Angeles, CA, at KAASS LAW now.Our law firm takes pride in providing the best services we possibly can for all of our clients.
Criminal negligence is more than just inattention or carelessness. Defendant can be found to be criminally negligent if:
He acted in a reckless way that created a high risk of great bodily injury or death upon a child
A reasonable person would have known that acting that way would probably and normally result in harm to a child.
Great bodily injury is a significant or substantial injury. Jury determines on an individual case-by-case basis the existence of great bodily injury. It is important to mention that unlike child abuse crime child endangerment crime doesn’t require that a child to actually suffer an injury. Any unjustifiable mental or physical harm to a child can result in a child endangerment charge.
Examples of Child Endangerment
Some examples of conduct including in the child endangerment
Negligently leaving a child with a person who has a history of abusive behavior
Leaving dangerous firearms unlocked and loaded within a child’s reach
Failing to get medical treatment for an injured or sick child
Involving a child in drugs transportation, manufacture or sale
Driving under the influence
Penalties for California Child Endangerment
The punishment for violation of PC 273 mainly depends on whether or not the defendant's acts created a risk of great bodily harm or death to the child.
Misdemeanor Penalties for California Child Endangerment
Misdemeanor penalties for California Child Endangerment may include:
Up to 12 months in a county jai
A fine up to $1,000
Minimum 4 years of misdemeanor probation
Completion of a 12-month Child abuser treatment program
Possible issuance of a protective order to keep the defendant away from the child
Felony Penalties for California Child Endangerment
Felony penalties for child endangerment can include:
Two, four or six years in a state prison
A fine up to $10,000
Minimum 4 years of formal probation
Completion of a 12-month Child abuser treatment program
Possible issuance of a protective order to keep the defendant away from the child
A "strike" on defendant's record under California's "Three Strikes" law
Sentencing Enhancement for Causing Great Bodily Injury in Child Endangerment Cases
Sentencing Enhancements for causing great bodily injury in California child endangerment cases
Defendant will receive an additional and consecutive three to six years in prison in case he personally and actually caused great bodily injury on the child, or
Defendant will receive an additional and consecutive four years in prison in case the child died as a result of the defendant's criminal negligence
Glendale Criminal Defense Lawyer
If you are a loved one has been charged with violating California Penal Code 273a, child endangerment contact our Glendale criminal defense lawyer today at (310) 943-1171 for a free consultation.