California Penal Code Section 240 defines assault as an attempt to commit a violent injury on someone else. Assault is usually in connection with the battery, though they are two different offenses. Penal Code Section 242 differs battery from an assault as it requires that the defendant actually use force or violence against someone else. For expanded interpretation, here are the legal definitions of the differences between California Penal Code 240, 242, 243 and 273.5.
What Does the Prosecutor Have to Prove to Convict a Defendant of Penal Code 240 Assault?
The prosecutor must establish the following elements to convict the defendant of assault under Penal Code 240:
Defendant acted willfully
Defendant’s act was a direct and probable result in the application of force to another person
The defendant was aware that the act would likely result in the application of force to another person
The defendant had present ability to apply the force.
The defendant can face up to six months in county jail and a fine up to a maximum fine of $1,000.
What Does the Prosecutor Have to Prove to Convict a Defendant of Penal Code 242 Assault?
The prosecutor must establish the following elements to convict the defendant of battery under Penal Code 242 battery:
Defendant unlawfully and willfully touched another person in an offensive or harmful manner.
Assault is generally an attempt to commit battery. Assault may have taken place without the occurrence of a battery since physical contact is not an element of an assault charge. The crime of battery necessarily requires an assault. The defendant can’t unlawfully and willfully touch another person (battery) without firstly making an unlawful attempt (assault) to do so.
Battery Penal Code Section 242 PC
California Penal Code Section 242 defines the crime of battery as any willful and unlawful use of force or violence upon another person. In California, law battery is a misdemeanor crime and the defendant can face up to six months in county jail and a fine of up to $2,000.
Spousal Battery Penal Code Section 243 PC
Per Penal Code Section 243(e)(1), is a crime often referred to as “spousal battery” and it occurs when a defendant uses violence or force against:
A current or a former spouse
Cohabitant
Parent of the child
Someone he or she is or had an engagement to
A spousal battery conviction is a misdemeanor with up to one year in county jail and a fine of up to $2,000. A defendant may also be required to enter a batterer’s program and pay up to $5,000 to a battered women’s shelter.
Corporal Injury on a Spouse or Cohabitant PC Section 273.5
The crime of inflicting corporal injury on a spouse or cohabitant under Penal Code 273.5(a) is similar to spousal battery under Penal Code 243. The crimes involve the same people with whom the defendant has a relationship as under Penal Code Section 243(e)(1). The difference between these two crimes is that for being convicted defendant must have inflicted some type of injury upon the victim.
What Does The Prosecutor Have to Prove To Convict a Defendant of Penal Code 273.5?
The prosecutor must establish the following elements to convict the defendant under PC Section 273.5:
The defendant inflicted corporal injury on a current of a former spouse, current or former partner, current or former cohabitant, parent of the child
The defendant intentionally inflicted the injury
As a result of the use of force the victim has suffered a traumatic condition, whether a serious or minor wound or any other injury to the body.
In California Penal Code section 273.5 is a wobbler offense, with either a misdemeanor or felony conviction. If convicted of a misdemeanor, the defendant will face up to one year in county jail and a fine of up to $6,000. If convicted of a felony the defendant will face two, three, or four years in state prison and a fine of up to $6,000.
Los Angeles Criminal Defense Attorney
If you or someone you know has been charged with California Penal Code secontions 240, 242, 243, or 273.5 we invite you to contact our criminal defense attorney today at (310) 943-1171 for a free consultation and case reivew.
According to 18 USC § 152 and 18 USC § 157 Bankruptcy Fraud is committed when a person makes a misleading claim or false statement in a bankruptcy proceeding or intentionally files a fraudulent bankruptcy petition as part of a larger scheme to defraud. Bankruptcy Fraud can be prosecuted through numerous criminal statutes such as wire fraud, mail fraud, credit card fraud, conspiracy, or tax fraud. The most prevalent charge is Bankruptcy Fraud under USC Section 152 which covers all possible methods that a debtor or other person can employ to defraud any bankruptcy filing or proceeding.
Willfully and Intentionally Committing Bankruptcy Fraud
The defendant can’t accidentally commit bankruptcy fraud. Criminal fraud always involves knowingly misleading the court, hiding assets, or taking other fraudulent actions.
Examples of Bankruptcy Fraud
Examples of bankruptcy fraud include the following
Concealing property belonging to a debtor
Making a false statement or declaration under penalty of perjury in connection with a bankruptcy
Concealing or transferring property in contemplation of a bankruptcy case
Making a false claim against the estate of a debtor
According to California Penal Code Section 626.9, also known as the California Gun-Free Zone Act, it is illegal to knowingly possess loaded or unloaded a firearm or to discharge a firearm in a school zone.
Elements of Penal Code Section 626.9
Prosecutor must establish the following elements to convict the defendant of violating the Gun-Free School Zone Act
Defendant was in possession of a firearm
Defendant was within a school zone
Defendant knew or reasonably should have known, that he was in a school zone
Firearm For purposes of PC Section 629.9, a firearm is a device designed to be used as a weapon, from which is expelled through a barrel, a projectile by the force of an explosion or other form of combustion. School Zone School Zone is an area, “in, or on the grounds of, a public or private school providing instruction to kindergarten or grades 1 to 12”, or within 1,000 feet of those grounds.
Sexual assault by Uber drivers is not uncommon, and the sexual assault itself is prevalent all over. A person must give consent for being touched, and without consent, anyone who is touching or behaving inappropriately can be targeted for assault or harassment.
Sexual Assault in an Uber
Sexual Assault, Touching, or Rape in an Uber Examples of sexual and physical attacks include:
Touching
Groping
Fondling
Forced sexual action
Rape
Sexual abuse
Sexual misconduct
Highly suggestive or inappropriate remarks
Kissing
Depending on the nature of the crime a number of injuries in addition to sexual assault can be caused to the victim. Here is an incomplete list of injures:
California Penal Code Sections 243(b) and 243(c) makes it is illegal to commit a battery on a peace officer. Person can be found guilty of PC 243(b) or (c) if he knowingly used unlawful force against a peace officer while he was performing his duties.
Elements of Penal Code 243(b) Battery on a Peace Officer
Prosecutor must establish the following elements to prove that the defendant is guilty of battery on a police officer.
Defendant unlawfully and willfully touched a peace officer in an offensive or harmful manner
The victim was a peace officer and was performing his duties
Defendant knew or reasonably should have known, that the victim was a peace officer who was performing his duties
If charged for PC 243(c) - as a result of the used force used the peace officer suffered injury that required medical treatment
For Purposes of The Penal Code A Peace Officer Includes
Penal Code gives a broad definition to a “peace officer”, which includes the following:
Under California Penal Code Section 666 petty theft with a prior is described as follows: “Every person who has been convicted of three or more times of petty theft, grand theft, auto theft, burglary, carjacking, robbery, or a felony violation resulting in serving time in jail is convicted of petty theft”. Thus for be sentenced to penalties for petty theft with a prior under PC Section 666, defendant must first had conviction of California petty theft penal code 484 and 488.
Elements of Penal Code 666 Petty Theft with a Prior
Prosecution must establish the following elements for convicting the defendant of the petty theft with a prior under Penal Code 666:
Defendant had prior convictions for a theft crime for which he served jail or prison time
Defendant also had a conviction for a violent or serious California crime for which he served time in prison or jail
Qualifying theft crimes include: grand theft (including grand theft with a firearm) auto theft, carjacking, burglary and robbery. To get conviction of petty theft with a prior the defendant must also have a conviction for any of the below mentioned offenses, additionally to a theft crime conviction.
In California all drivers of TNCs (transportation network companies), such as Uber, are required to have a rideshare insurance at all times when the app is on. When the app is switched on, the Uber driver’s time is divided into three periods. Uber then decides when its insurance is applicable based on the period the accident happened. Uber's insurance coverages work different ways depending on which "period" the coverage falls under as it may impact your Uber accident claim. The rideshare app is off: The driver's personal insurance is active, which must meet California's minimum auto insurance requirements.
$15,000 of bodily injury coverage per person injured in an accident
$30,000 of bodily injury coverage per accident
$5,000 of property damage coverage per accident.
First Period – Uber App is Switch on While the Driver Waits for Ride Request
California law has the following minimum auto insurance requirements while rideshare app is on but the driver hasn’t been paired with a passenger.
$50,000 of bodily injury liability coverage for a person hurt in an accident
According to California Penal Code Section 245(a)(1), assault with a deadly weapon is an unlawful attempt to cause bodily harm to another person using a weapon or using force likely to cause great bodily harm.
California Assault with a Deadly Weapon PC-245
Prosecutor must establish the following elements to prove an allegation of assault with a deadly weapon.
Defendant committed assault with a deadly weapon that by its nature would likely and directly result in the application of force on another one or the defendant didn’t use a weapon but used force likely to produce great bodily injury
Defendant acted intentionally
Defendant was aware of facts that would cause a reasonable person to understand that the act would directly and probably result in the use of force to another one
Defendant had the present ability to use force on another person
Unlike battery, physical contact is not required to take place for someone to get arrested and convicted for assault.
The Unruh Civil Rights Act, California Civil Code Sections 51 and 52, provides protection from discrimination by all business establishments in California, including housing and public accommodations. The Unruh Act was designed to protect people rights from arbitrary discrimination and to guarantee their rights to equal and full access to all public accommodations.
California Civil Code 51(b) and Equal Accommodations
California Civil Code Section 51(b) defines the regulations under the Unruh Civil Rights Act: “All persons within the jurisdiction of this state are free and equal, and no matter what their sex, race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, disability, medical condition, genetic information, marital status, or sexual orientation are entitled to the full and equal accommodations, advantages, facilities, privileges, or services in all business establishments of every kind whatsoever.”
Discrimination by a Business Establishment
While the Unruh Civil Rights Act specifically indicates discrimination based on “sex, race, religion, age, color, national origin, ancestry, medical condition, disability, marital status, genetic information or sexual orientation”, the California Supreme Court has held, that protections under the Act are not only necessarily limited to the mentioned characteristics. The Unruh Act includes all intentional and arbitrary discrimination by a business establishment based on personal characteristics related to the above mentioned ones.
According to California Penal Code Section 485 (PC-485) it is unlawful to take lost property while knowing the identity of the owner or having ability to pursue information about who the property belongs to.
Elements of Penal Code 485 Appropriation Of Lost Property
Prosecutor must establish the following elements to prove that the defendant is guilty of unlawful appropriation of lost property under PC Section 485.
Defendant found lost property under circumstances where he had knowledge of the identity of the owner or had the ability to pursue information about who the property belonged to.
Defendant took possession of the lost property for his own use or for the use of another one who was not the rightful owner.
Defendant dis so with intention to permanently deprive the owner of a major portion of the value or the enjoyment of the property
Defendant did not make a reasonable attempt to find the rightful owner and to return the lost property
Actual and Constructive Possession
There are two ways of the lost property possession: actual possession and constructive possession. Person has an actual possession when he physically possesses the property. Constructive possession means that a person doesn’t physically posses the property but he holds control and ownership of it.
Legal and Illegal Possession
When a person loses his property it does not mean he relinquishes control or ownership over, unless he intended to abandon it. A person retains his constructive possession of the property while another one gets actual possession of that property. The actual possession can be legal or illegal. The actual possession of property is legal when a person who takes it makes reasonable efforts to find the rightful owner. The possession is considered unlawful in case the person keeps the property without undertaking any actions to return it.
Withholding documents from the administrators of any bankruptcy
Illegally receiving property from a debtor
Receiving or giving any bribe in relation to a bankruptcy
Making a false oath or accounts in relation to any bankruptcy
Destroying or concealing documents related to a bankruptcy or a debtor
Defenses to Bankruptcy Fraud
Good faith belief In case the defendant honestly and in good faith believed the misleading statements or promises made as part of the scheme were true it is a valid defense in federal bankruptcy charges. Substantial Assistance Usually, the most commonly utilized method to avoid the penalties for federal bankruptcy fraud is substantial assistance. The prosecution is authorized to ask the court to suspend or reduce a sentence when the defendant provides substantial assistance in the arrest, identification, or conviction of any other person engaged in the scheme to defraud. Penalties for violating 18 U.S. Code Chapter 9 Under federal law, the punishment for Bankruptcy Fraud may vary depending on the circumstances, nature and of the offense, and the defendant’s criminal history. Under 18 U.S. Code Section 157 the crime of Bankruptcy Fraud is a felony, punishable by:
Up to five years in federal prison
A fine of up to $250,000.
Probation is also possible in bankruptcy fraud cases. For the probation period, the defendant will be required to comply with specific orders, such as not committing more crimes and meeting with a probation officer. Usually, probation lasts from one to three years, however, longer sentences are possible.
The defendant will be additionally required to pay restitution and forfeit any property or money obtained from the scheme to defraud.
There are numerous provisions in the law when a person can escape from criminal liability. The law isn’t applicable under the following circumstances:
Person is an authorized military personnel or police officer
Person is an authorized security guard or transporter for a financial institution, bank, or other common carriers
Person is a licensed individual that is in the business of manufacturing, repairing, importing, wholesaling, or dealing in firearms
Person has written permission from the school district
Person is on private property either at a business or residence as long as he lawfully possesses the gun
Person is carrying a concealed pistol or revolver that is unloaded and is in a locked container within his vehicle
Legal defenses to California PC Section 626.9 Charges
Legal defenses to California PC Section 626.9 charges
Defendant did not know or could not reasonably know that he was near a school zone
Defendant was a subject an unlawful search and seizure
Any of the exemptions listed in the act applied to the defendant at the time
Penalties for Violating the Gun-Free School Zone Act
In case the defendant possessed a firearm in, or on the grounds of a public or private school, he will face two, three, or five years sentence in California state prison. If the defendant possessed a firearm within 1,000 feet of the grounds of a public or private school he will face a sentence of two, three, or five years in California state prison when any of the bellow mentioned circumstances apply:
Defendant had prior felony convictions
Defendant was prohibited from possessing a firearm pursuant to Chapter 2, or Chapter 3, of Division 9 of Title 4 of Part 6 of California Penal Code, or Section 8100 or 8103 of the Welfare and Institutions Code
The firearm was a revolver, pistol, or any other concealable firearm, punishable as an illegally concealed weapon pursuant to PC Section 25400
In case the defendant discharged, or attempted to discharge a firearm in a school zone, he will face a sentence of three, five, or seven years in California state prison. For anymore inquires on this matter, give us a call! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ffi6hAbU8cw
The following are the steps the victim must undertake:
Seek medical treatment immediately for any injuries and receive a rape kit in case the victim was raped
Call the police and give them the required information,
Report the sexual assault to Uber
Request a copy bank statement proving the payment for the ride
Take pictures of damages and injuries
Try to record eyewitnesses’ statements or testimonies, or ask for their personal information for contacting them later
Filling a Personal Injury Claim
In the state of California for personal injury, claims victim has up to two years from the date of the act to file a claim. In case the victim exceeds this statute of limitations, the claim can be outright denied. Therefore, it is important to file a claim against Uber and the driver as soon as possible. The judge will consider the level of injuries inflicted upon the victim. Sexual harassment includes lewd conduct, suggestive language, unwarranted sexual advances, and requests for sexual favors. It leads to uncomfortable situations but generally does not enter the physical realm. However, when it does, it becomes sexual assault, which includes groping, assault and battery, kidnapping, inappropriate touching, threats and intimidation, sexual assault and rape, or any use of physical violence or force. A victim can also file a claim against both the driver and Uber. The Uber driver is a person who has committed the acts and can be responsibly liable for his unlawful actions, but the Company can also be complicit if it was negligent in the hiring process or service provision. There is a case of negligence if the driver had a prior conviction of sexual assault or other related crimes and Uber hired him anyway.
What Types of Damages Can a Victim of Sexual Assault in an Uber Can Recover?
The victim of sexual assault in an Uber can collect the following types of damages:
Economic Damages: Any damages connected with monetary loss or hardship, such as medication, hospitalization fees, surgery costs; property loss, which could occur during the assault, such as bag, purse, phone or laptop left in the car; and lost wages at work due to medical treatment or an inability to make it to work due to stressful situation.
Non-economic Damages: This is the compensation that can’t be measured with money, which involves pain and suffering, mood disorders and anxiety, subsequent mental stress.
Penal Code Section 243(b) and (c) is only applicable when the peace officer whom the defendant battered was engaged in the performance of his duties. Violent or Offensive Manner Even the slightest touching, if it is done in an objectively rude or violent manner constitutes offensive touching even if it didn’t cause harm, pain, or any kind of injury. The touching doesn’t need to be direct.
Legal defenses to Penal Code Sections 243(b) and 242(c)
Legal defenses to California Penal Code Section 243(b) and 243(c) include
Defendant committed the battery in self-defense or in defense of another person
In case the defendant reasonably believed that he or another person was in imminent danger of great bodily injury or harm and he reasonably used force necessary to deflect that harm, then he can assert self-defense.
Defendant acted accidentally
For being convicted of a 243(b) or (c) defendant must have intentionally touched the peace officer. In case he didn’t act willfully he cannot be found guilty of battery on a peace officer.
The peace officer was not performing his duties
In case the peace officer whom the defendant battered was not engaged in the performance of his duties, then he cannot be found guilty of this crime. Even if the victim announced that he was a peace officer and was wearing a police uniform he cannot be deemed performing his duties in case he unlawfully detained or arrested the defendant, violated defendant’s fourth amendment rights or committed police brutality. This means that officer was not engaged in a legal performance of his duties.
Penalties for a California PC 243(b) or 243(c) Conviction
Penalties for violating California PC 243(b) and 243(c) Sections In California a basic battery on a peace officer is a misdemeanor with the following penalties:
Up one year in a county jail,
A fine of up to $2,000
Misdemeanor probation
California PC Section 243(c): Wobbler According to California PC Section 243(c), a battery on a peace officer that caused an injury is a wobbler and can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the circumstances of the case and the defendant's criminal history. For purposes of California PC Section 243(c) the injury is considered the one that requires medical attention. Penalties for a misdemeanor conviction are the following:
Up one year in a county jail
A fine of up to $10,000
Misdemeanor probation
Penalties for a felony conviction are the following:
Sixteen months, two or three years in a county jail under California realignment
Theft or fraud of an elderly person in violation of California elder abuse laws under Penal Code Section 368
Prior sex crime convictions with the requirement to register as a sex offender under Penal Code Section 290
A prior conviction for one of a serious or violent felonies, such as
Rape
Gross vehicular manslaughter
Murder or attempted murder
Sex crimes with a child under 14 years old
Sex crimes committed through the use of force or fear
Assault with a machine gun on a peace officer
Possession of a weapon of mass destruction
Solicitation to commit murder
Any other felony punishable by life in prison or the death penalty
Proposition 47's Reform
Prior to proposition 47, three prior convictions for different theft crimes could lead to a felony sentence of sixteen months to three years for a conviction on a new charge. But, proposition 47 has changed the law so that most of the cases with three prior theft convictions will remain misdemeanors. Exceptions are the following:
Prior convictions for California PC Section 368(d) or (e) elder abuse
In case the defendant is required to register as a sex offender.
Legal Defenses to California Penal Code Section 666 Charges
Legal defenses to California Penal Code Section 666 charges include
No intent to steal
Intent is one of the key elements that must be proved for convicting defendant of a theft crime. In case the defendant didn’t not intent to steal the property he is not guilty of petty theft.
Consent from the owner
In case the owner of the property gave the defendant a permission to take the property, he can’t be found guilty of petty theft.
Defendant had a reasonable belief that the property belonged to him
In case the property actually belonged to the defendant or if he reasonably but mistakenly believed that the property belonged to him, he is not guilty of petty theft.
Penalties for a California Penal Code Section 666 Conviction
Penalties for a California Penal Code Section 666 conviction include In California law petty theft with a prior conviction is a wobbler and can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the case facts and the defendant’s criminal history.
Defendant will get up to one year in county jail for misdemeanor conviction.
Defendant will get sixteen months, two or three year’s term in California State prison for felony conviction
$100,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per one accident
$30,000 of property damage liability coverage per one accident
Uber’s rideshare policy isn’t applicable for accidents that take place before a driver accepts a passenger, since Uber considers drivers contractors rather than employees. Consequently, they are not responsible for what happens while the driver isn’t on duty.
Second Period: Driver is On the Way to Pick up the Passenger
Once there is a ride request from a passenger and the driver accepts it, this puts the driver in “on duty” status and Uber’s insurance coverage starts. But in case the driver gets in an accident before he picked up the passenger, it follows that the passenger would have to cancel the ride. This adds a layer of difficulty when claiming the insurance coverage.
Third Period: Uber Passenger is in The Vehicle
The third period is the easiest one to claim insurance coverage from Uber. The passenger is in the Uber car, the driver is “on duty” and the Company must cover whatever happens during this period. Consequently once the driver has been paired with a passenger and after the passenger has entered the Uber car, the company is required to carry a $1 million liability insurance policy. Uber provides its drivers with $1 million of uninsured and underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage. It also provides comprehensive and collision coverage with a $1,000 deductible as long as the driver has collision coverage on his personal auto insurance policy. California law requires the driver to be covered by an auto insurance policy at all times. But since the TNC can help meet that requirement, not all rideshare drivers in California need to purchase rideshare insurance for driving legally. But, the driver may want to purchase an individual rideshare policy which will let to maintain some coverage, such as comprehensive, collision and medical payments, during the First period. Otherwise, the driver would have to pay the costs himself if he is injured or the vehicle is damaged in that period.
An Attorney Can Provide Legal Assistance For Your Uber Insurance Coverage
It is in your best interest to consult with a Los Angeles Uber accident lawyer about your claim before speaking with Uber or an insurance adjuster. This way you will have more leverage in settlement negotiations with Uber and Uber's insurance adjusters to get the compensation you deserve rather than getting lowball settlement offers. If you or a loved one have been injured in an Uber or Lyft accident we invite you to get in touch with our office. We are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.
Deadly weapon is defined as any object or instrument that is inherently deadly or which can be used in such a way as to cause death or great bodily harm.
Legal Defenses to PC Section 245(a)(1) Charges
Some common defenses to an assault with a deadly weapon charge?
Self Defense: Defendant can argue that he was acting in his own defense or the defense of another person.
Consent: Defendant can argue that the victim agreed with his conduct
False Facts: Defendant can argue that the allegations against him are inappropriate or false.
Involuntary Act: Defendant can argue that the action which caused the assault was unintentional or involuntary.
Penalties for Violating California PC Section 245
In California assault with a deadly weapon is considered a “wobbler”, and can be charged as either a felony or misdemeanor offense depending on the case facts and defendant’s criminal record. The prosecution will take into account different factors such as the type of weapon, the extent of the victim’s injuries and the manner in which the assault was conducted.
Penalties for Misdemeanor Assault with Deadly Weapon Conviction
Penalties for misdemeanor assault with deadly weapon conviction are the following:
Up to one year in a county jail
A fine of up to $10,000
Misdemeanor probation
Penalties for Felony Assault with Deadly Weapon Conviction
Penalties for felony assault with deadly weapon conviction are the following:
Up to 4 years in a county jail
A fine of up to$10,000.
Felony probation
There are some factors that can increase the penalties beyond this range, such as:
Use of a semiautomatic weapon
The defendant can be sentenced to up to 9 years in prison if he is convicted of assault using a semiautomatic firearm such as a rifle or handgun.
Use of an automatic weapon
The defendant can be sentenced to up to 12 years in prison if he is convicted of an assault using an automatic weapon such as a .50 BMG rifle, machine-gun or an assault weapon.
The victim was a firefighter or police officer
The defendant can be sentenced to up 12 years in prison if the victim was a police officer or firefighter on duty at the time the assault took place.
Felony Strike
A felony conviction under PC Section 245 can also result in a “strike” for the purposes of California’s “Three-Strike” law. Three strikes on defendant’s criminal record mean that he can be sentenced to life in prison without parole. Are you in need of a criminal defense attorney in California? Get in touch with KAASS Law if you would like us to take a look into your criminal matter.
What Is Considered to Be a Business Establishment According the Unruh Act?
The list includes some examples of business establishments that are covered by the Act. The list is non-exhaustive, and can include any place of public accommodation:
Retail Establishments
Hotels and Motels
Non-Profit Organizations that are a public accommodation or have a business purpose
Restaurants and Bars
Hospitals
Barber and Beauty Shops
Theaters
Housing Accommodations
Retail Establishments
Golf Courses
Public Agencies
Retail Shops
Fitness Clubs
California Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH)
If you believe that a business establishment has violated the Unruh Act, you can file a complaint with the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH). DFEH is not an advocate for the complaining person or for the business establishment. Department of Fair Employment and Housing represents the State of California. If possible, DFEH will try to assist both parties in resolving the complaint. In case a voluntary settlement cannot be reached, and there is enough evidence of violation, DFEH can issue a civil complaint. Generally the complaint must be filed within one year of the violation. Though, in case the discrimination has connection with hate violence, a person has one year from the day he becomes aware of the committer’s identity to file the complaint, but not more three years from the date of the injury. If a individual wishes to file lawsuit directly through the courts he can do so without involving DFEH.
Remedies for Discrimination Violation Under Unruh Act
Possible remedies for violations of the Unruh Act can include:
General and special damages
Injunctive relief
Cease and desist orders
Out-of-pocket expenses
Attorney’s fees.
Damages for emotional distress
Court-ordered damages can include up to three times the total amount of the actual damages, also known as “treble damages”, but not less than $4,000 for each offense.
California Civil Rights Discrimination Attorney
If you believe that you have been discriminated against in housing or by a business, our employment law attorneys at KAASS LAW can evaluate your case understand your rights under the Unruh Act and other California anti-discrimination laws, and take your case to trial or secure a fair settlement. [contact-form-7 id="5673" title="KAASS LAW Contact Form"]
Knowledge means that defendant actually knew who was the rightful owner of the property, had an ability to find him through an investigation and made a reasonable attempt. A “reasonable attempt” is a question of fact which depends on the specific circumstances of the case and is determined by the jury. Thus for convicting a person in appropriation of lost property under California PC Section 485 prosecution must prove that the defendant had knowledge about the owner or had means of inquiry to find him.
Defendant had no intention to permanently deprive the owner of the property
Defendant is not guilty of this offence in case he used the property for a time before returning it to the legal owner. Defendant must have intent to permanently deprive the owner of its value or enjoyment of the property. But in case he returned it or undertook some efforts to find the rightful owner, he is not guilty under PC Section 485. However the defendant can be civilly liable for depriving the owner of its value or enjoyment of the property or damaging it. Penalties for Violating California Penal Code 485 Appropriation of lost property can be filed as an infraction, a misdemeanor or a felony. Charges depend on lost property value. In case the value is more than $950, the offense qualifies as a grand theft, which is a wobbler and can be prosecuted as either a felony of misdemeanor, depending on the defendant’s criminal history and the case circumstances.
Penalties for Misdemeanor Penal Code 485 Conviction
Penalties for misdemeanor Penal Code 485 conviction include the following:
Up to one year in a county jail
A fine up to $1,000
Penalties for Felony Penal Code 485 Conviction
Penalties for felony Penal Code 485 conviction include the following:
Up to three years in California state prison
A fine of up to $10,000.
If the total value of the lost property is $950 or less, the offense is classified as petty theft which is prosecuted as a misdemeanor with the following penalties:
Up to six months in a county jail
A fine of up to $1,000.
Infraction Penal Code 485 Appropriation of Lost Property
If the defendant has no criminal history and the case circumstances are not that serious he can be charged with an infraction, with no jail time and the fine of up to $250 fine. Are you in need of an experienced lawyer in Los Angeles who can help your court case obtain positive results? Our attorneys at KAASS LAW can provide you with the services you require. We specialize in multiple practice areas of law. Get in touch with an attorney near you to go over the details of your specific situation.