California's position on marijuana has modernized and allowed the usage of the substance. What's more, this shows that CA is a lot more lax than its strict rules against it in the past. However, the laws surrounding driving under the influence (DUI) of cannabis are complex and carry serious legal problems if one were to break the law. Whereas recreational and medicinal use is legal for adults, yet on the other, operating a vehicle while impaired by marijuana is strictly prohibited and treated with the same severity as driving under the influence of alcohol. Understanding these laws, your rights, and the potential penalties is crucial for all California drivers. At KAASS LAW, we are dedicated to providing clarity on this critical issue and offering robust legal defense to those facing DUI or marijuana charges.
Vehicle Code Section 23152(f) Driving Under the Influence
Vehicle Code section 23152(f) applies to driving under the influence of marijuana. Under VC Section 23152(f), "an individual is prohibited from driving under the influence of drugs." "Drugs" for purposes of this code section refers to any drugs (both illicit or prescribed) that can impair one's driving abilities. Examples of drugs that apply under this code section include marijuana, LSD, cocaine, and even sleeping pills. Without a doubt, this is a very serious matter.
Evidence a Police Officer Uses to Determine if a Driver Is Under the Influence of Marijuana
Evidence of driving under the influence of marijuana may include:
The defendant's performance on Field Sobriety Tests (FSTs);
Slow reaction time
Defendant's driving pattern;
Statements made to the police officer;
Finding marijuana or drug paraphernalia in the defendant's car or on the defendant
What are the Penalties for a 1st DUI of Marijuana?
A first DUI charge essentially means that it is the individual's first-time DUI charge (including either drug or alcohol). The possible penalties associated with this first DUI of marijuana include:
Up to 6 months in jail;
paying a fine anywhere from $390 to $1,000;
3 to 9 months of DUI school; and
driver's license revoked for 6 to 10 months
What are the Penalties for a 2nd DUI of Marijuana?
A Second DUI charge essentially means that it is the individual's second DUI charge (including drug or alcohol). The possible penalties for this second-time offender include:
96 mandatory hours in county jail to a maximum sentence of one year;
paying fines from $390 to $1,000, 30 months of DUI school; and
driver's license revoked for 2 years
What are the Penalties for a 3rd DUI of Marijuana?
If a Third DUI charge means an individual's third DUI charge (including either drug or alcohol). The possible penalties for this offense include:
120 days of mandatory jail time in county jail to a maximum sentence of one year;
paying fines from $390 to $1,000;
30 months of DUI school; and
driver's license revoked for 3 years
What are the Penalties for a Misdemeanor DUI with Injury?
The penalties for a misdemeanor DUI with injury include:
5 days of mandatory jail time in county jail to a maximum of one year;
paying fines from $390 to $5,000;
taking DUI school anywhere from 3, 18, or 30 months; and
driving license revoked for 1 to 3 years
What are the Penalties for a Felony DUI?
A felony DUI occurs if it is the individual's fourth DUI offense within the past 10 years. Additionally, the driver has a prior felony DUI conviction. Or if the driver causes an accident in which the other parties die or are injured as a result of the accident. Penalties for a Felony DUI include:
16 months of mandatory jail time in county jail;
2 to 3 years of state prison;
paying fines anywhere from $390 to $1,000;
18 to 30 months of DUI school; and
driver's license revoked for 4 years
What are the Penalties for a Felony DUI with Injury?
In this case of a felony DUI with injuries occurs when an individual drives under the influence and then causes bodily injury or death to another. Consequently, penalties for a felony DUI with Injury include:
16 months of mandatory jail time in county jail or up to 16 years in state prison;
paying fines anywhere from $1,015 to $5,000;
18 to 30 months of DUI school; and
driver's license revoked for 5 years
Reckless Driving
In any case, given the situation if the case goes from bad, to worse, reckless driving can also potentially be a risk factor.
Contact Us
Driving under the influence of marijuana carries serious legal consequences in California. Additionally, don't navigate this complex legal landscape alone. In brief, please contact KAASS LAW today for a confidential consultation to discuss your case and learn how we can help protect your future across the state. Overall, we can help conduct, analyze, challenge, and negotiate for you so we may provide an aggressive and effective representation.
Proposition 64 has brought major changes in the state of California. However, it hasn't completely stopped all legal complexities, especially when it comes to driving. While anyone at the age of 21 and over can legally possess and use marijuana within certain limits, operating a vehicle while in possession of it still carries legal challenges. Understanding these layers of law is important for CA drivers so we may avoid any legal penalties. At KAASS LAW, we are committed to providing anything that requires clarifications on these evolving laws. Furthermore, we strive to protect your rights on the road.
Driving In Possession
Even if you're not actively under the influence while driving, just having it in your vehicle can lead to legal issues, given the circumstances. Here are a couple of violations worth mentioning:
VCS 2322:CA has an "open container" law that applies just the same to the possession of marijuana. Furthermore, this means that any cannabis product within the passenger area inside a vehicle cannot open or unseal the container. If not, law enforcement can cite the open container violation against you.
: For individuals under 21, any possession of marijuana in a vehicle is generally illegal and can lead to citations and potential penalties, regardless of whether the container is open or sealed.
California, with its sun-drenched landscapes and bustling urban centers, offers a vibrant lifestyle. However, beneath the surface of idyllic scenery lies a common hazard: slip and fall accidents. These incidents, often seemingly minor, can result in significant injuries, financial burdens, and emotional distress for victims. Whether it's a wet grocery store floor, an uneven sidewalk, or inadequate lighting in a parking lot, property owners have a legal responsibility to maintain reasonably safe premises for visitors. At KAASS LAW we understand the complexities surrounding slip and fall accidents and are dedicated to providing clear guidance and robust legal representation to those who have been injured due to negligence.
Premises Liability Accidents
A slip and fall accident falls under California premises liability laws. For an injured party to recover damages, the accident must have resulted from someone’s negligence. Hence, not all falls will necessarily lead to a slip and fall liability, but in a surprisingly large number of cases, they certainly can.
Responsible and Negligent Party
More specifically, someone is negligent and responsible for a slip and fall case in California if they:
In the dynamic and often unpredictable economic landscape of California, businesses and individuals can sometimes find themselves facing overwhelming debt. While the term "bankruptcy" often conjures images of complete financial collapse, the reality is that the US Bankruptcy Code offers powerful tools for reorganization and debt management, providing a pathway toward a fresh start or a sustainable future. At KAASS LAW, we understand the complexities and anxieties in relation to financial distress, and we would like to dedicate in guiding individuals and businesses through the processes of bankruptcy reorganizations and arrangements in California.
What is Bankruptcy Reorganization?
Chapter 11 of the US Bankruptcy Code is usually falls under as a "reorganization" bankruptcy. Bankruptcy reorganization occurs when a corporation is unable to pay its outstanding debts or a company's passives exceed actives. As such, bankruptcy proceedings are likely to be initiate. These proceedings are all under the federal bankruptcy court. In the framework of bankruptcy reorganization, the insolvent corporation has a possible chance to draft and submit a reorganization plan to the court. The latter is aiming towards the financial recovery of a corporation. If the given reorganization plan is approved by the court, the corporation can continue its business activity since the payment of debts impeding corporate operations is adjourned.
You can be a new driver or a seasoned veteran behind the wheel. California offers all types of people the ability to drive, given the legal circumstances. Understanding the different options of California's driver's licenses is extremely important. The California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) provides a range of legal state-permitted licenses that can be tailored to specific needs and vehicle types. Possessing these types ensures that you are qualified to drive, which, in theory, increases safety for the community and urban areas. At KAASS LAW, we believe in empowering our cities and California state with the proper legal information and offer a guide in breaking down various CA driver's license classifications.
The Standard Class C Driver's License: The Foundation
For most drivers, the Class C driver's license is the standard. This license permits you to operate:
Two axle vehicles with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of 26,000 lbs. or less, give or take/
Three-axle vehicle weighing 6,000 lbs. or less.
Vans are designed to carry 10 or fewer people, including the driver.
California is one of many states that are considered car-dependent. The kind of offer of lending your vehicle to another person is quite common. However, such an innocent act may result in accidents and injuries, given the circumstances. A typical question always pops up when you're in this situation: am I liable for this, even though I wasn't the driver? The state of California also recognizes a legal doctrine called negligent entrustment. Applying to the law, this can potentially hold the vehicle owner liable for damages due to permitting someone else to drive their vehicle. At KAASS LAW, we understand and help resolve these complex cases with our expert team. The following will aim to shed light on negligent entrustment in California, and we can offer legal services, given the opportunity.
What is Negligent Entrustment?
Negligent entrustment means that you can be liable and legally responsible if you lend your var to someone you knew or should have known potentially driving negligent and or recklessly. Usually negligence falls under the person that initiated the act. However, this will go against your negligent decision to entrust the vehicle to an unfit driver.
The temptation of freedom and independence on the open road is powerful. This speaks very loud when it comes down to teenagers as they are slowly heading towards adulthood. Being a parent and or guardian for the littles, you do your best for your child to make them happy and see them smile. However, it's easier said than done. Sometimes, you want to make your kid happy by allowing them the freedom of the vehicle. As a result, the act of giving possession of a car to a minor in CA carries great legal problems and potential liability. Next time you're asked if they can take the family car for a ride, it is only fair for you to know the risk at hand. Here at KAASS LAW, we aim to enlighten our readers and clients on safety and avoiding any potential risks worth avoiding.
California Law and Minor Drivers: A Framework of Responsibility
California law places specific restrictions and obligations on minor drivers and those who enable their driving privileges. As there are restrictions for minors when it comes to obtaining a driver's license, the legal responsibility usually falls under their parents and or guardian. Giving possession, in essence, of a car to a minor isn't something that should be done in a light-hearted fashion. There are legal consequences if things go from bad to worse.
An easements grants a person or entity the right to use a part of real estate they don't own for a specific purpose.
Types of Easement in California
There are four types of easements that can be applicable to your property, including:
Express easements
Implied easement by existing use
Easement by necessity
Prescriptive easements.
Express Easement
Express easement is created either through a reservation or a grant. In case of a granted easement, the landowner provides a person or the entity with the ability to use the land for right of way purposes. In the case of a reserved easement, one person sells the land to another but reserves an easement for their own benefit.
Implied Easement by Existing Use
Implied easements arise when land divides into two parts, and the owner used one part for the benefit of the other before the division. An implied easement doesn’t need to be in writing, unlike express easements.
Easement by Necessity
An easement by necessity occurs when use of the land is unconditionally necessary. Easement by necessity doesn’t require preexisting use of the land. If someone’s property blocks them in, they may need to use a portion of another person’s property to reach the street.
In California if a person wants to sell an investment property and wishes to buy another one, he/she should be aware of the 1031 tax-deferred exchange. This procedure allows the owner of investment property to sell the property and purchase like-kind property while deferring capital gains tax
What is a 1031 Exchange?
The name of 1031 exchange gets from the U.S. Internal Revenue Code Section 1031 according to which a person can avoid paying capital gains taxes when selling an investment property and reinvest the proceeds from the sale in a property or properties of like kind and equal or higher value. According to the Internal Revenue Code Section 1.1031, no loss or gain is recognized in case the property held for productive use in a business or trade for investment is exchanged exclusively for the property of a like-kind to be held either for productive use in a business or a trade or for investment.
Types of Real Estate Exchanges in California
There are several types of real estate exchange when you wish to participate in a 1031 exchange
How Was Cultivating Marijuana Treated Before Proposition 64?
Cultivating marijuana in California was treated as a felony offense under Health and Safety Code Section 11358 before Proposition 64. A felony is a criminal offense punishable by serving one year or longer in prison.
How Does Proposition 64 Change Laws Relating to Cultivating Marijuana?
Proposition 64 went into effect on January 1, 2018, making it legal for individuals 21 years or older to grow marijuana for recreational purposes. Additionally, the sale of marijuana has also been legalized for those business entities that have been licensed to do so.
What Are the Changes Made as a Result of Passing Proposition 64?
Health and Safety Code Section 11359: If you are in possession of marijuana exceeding the legal limit of 28.5 grams or show signs of intent to sell (scale, baggies, etc) while in the vehicle, can lead to more serious charges
DUI
Driving under the influence is a serious charge. You can have a citation for an open container violation even if you're dead sober. However, if law enforcement suspects you are driving impaired, they will conduct a DUI search. These can be stressful and, if convicted or arrested, financially costly, in addition to wasting a lot of your time.
Can A Police Officer Search Inside Your Car?
A police officer can only search an individual's car if:
The police officer has a valid search warrant that has been signed off by a presiding judge or
The police officer is authorized to do so because a valid search warrant exception applies.
What Will Happen If A Police Officer Searches Your Car Unlawfully Inside Your Car?
Should a police officer do an unlawful search and then find marijuana inside the car, that marijuana, which is deemed to be evidence, can be excluded for purposes of the case. Additionally, the case may also be dropped as a result of an unlawful search.
Protecting Your Rights: What to Do If Stopped
If you are pulled over and questioned about marijuana in your vehicle, it's essential to remain calm and exercise your rights:
Be Police: Keep your responses simple and respectful. Also, keep in mind that you do have the right to remain silent. As long as you instruct the police officer at the given time that you're invoking your 5th Amendment rights, this should be fine.
Do Not Admit: Even if you believe you're at fault, if asked if you've used marijuana, politely decline to answer. Anything you say can be used against you.
Do Not Consent to Searches: Unless they have a warrant or probable cause, you have the right to refuse a search of your vehicle. Clearly state that you do not consent.
Note Details: If a search is conducted against your will, note the officer's name, badge number, or any details.
Contact an Attorney Immediately: If you are in legal trouble for driving in possession of marijuana or DUI, contact KAASS LAW as soon as possible to understand your rights and legal options.
KAASS LAW: Your Advocate In Marijuana-Related Traffic Offenses
Navigating California's marijuana laws, especially in the context of driving, can be complex. If you're in a legal dilemma for driving in possession of marijuana or a marijuana DUI, it's crucial to have experienced legal representation on your side. At KAASS LAW, we have a thorough understanding of these laws and can provide you with a strong defense. We will:
Analyze the Evidence: Carefully review the circumstances of your stop and arrest to identify any potential violations of your rights.
Explore Legal Options: Our legal team can plan and strategize on mitigating the damages of the case, or potentially dropping the charges entirely. We can explore strategies and options on how we can approach with proper and careful planning.
Protect Your Driving Privileges: Driving is extremely important. Allow us to secure your privileges and your right to travel.
Provide Compassionate and Effective Representation: We can get it done, given the opportunity!
Contact Us
Don't think you can do this alone! Contact KAASS LAW today for a scheduled consultation service. Our office and its expert members can help and discuss your case so we may learn how we can help you navigate the legal complexities of driving in possession of marijuana in California.
Knew, or through the execution of reasonable care and caution should have known,
About a hazardous condition on the property they own or control, and
They failed to repair, protect against, or provide enough warning of the condition.
Common Causes of Slip and Fall Accidents
As you may imagine, many factors can come into play in slip and fall cases. The most important factors tend to be those that we can link to what may have caused the slip and fall to recover damages. Some examples of these factors and causes are:
Leaks
Spills
Uneven flooring
Loose carpeting
Uncovered or exposed cables and cords
Broken furniture
Failure to close off construction sites, and
Failure to put up warning signs about known hazards in the area.
Who is Liable for Slip and Fall Accidents?
According to California law, people owe a duty of care to protect those who enter their property from harm. Duty of care applies to anyone who owns, leases, occupy or controls the property. However, it does not just apply to individuals; parent companies or insurers may also be liable to pay damages to people injured in slip and fall accidents in California.
Let’s explore a possible slip and fall scenario: Stephanie is out with her friends at a club, and she slips on someone’s spilled drink, injuring her head. This is a situation where there may be several possible liable parties, such as the promoter, the club owner, the parent company, the party’s insurers, and maybe even the club’s or promoter’s staff. As such, we can take many possible avenues in determining who is liable for a slip and fall injury, depending on the context of the situation.
Proving Fault in Premises Liability Cases
You need to know the four things that have to be established to prove that negligence led to your injuries in the slip and fall case. These four things are important to establish if you wish to recover damages:
The defendant owned, leased, occupied, or otherwise controlled the property;
The defendant was negligent in their use and maintenance of the property;
You were harmed by slipping and falling on the property; and
The defendant’s negligence was a major factor in causing the harm you suffered.
Once these four get established, we are well on our way to recovering damages for your slip and fall case. You are entitled to recover all compensatory damages that resulted from their negligence. Compensatory damages include:
Medical Bills
Lost Wages
Lost Earnings Capacity
Pain and Suffered
Potential Punitive Damages
We can recover punitive damages for a slip and fall case if the defendant’s recklessness led to severe injuries or death or if the defendant deliberately destroyed evidence of their liability.
Statute of Limitation in Slip and Fall Accident Lawsuits
Although an injured party may be eligible to recover damages, there is a statute of limitation ("SOL") to bring a slip and fall lawsuit. In California, the statute of limitations for slip and fall cases is two years from the accident date.
Many injured wonder what they must do to prepare for a slip and fall claim? The key is to show that the fall was the result of negligence. To prove that a third party was negligent, an injured party must collect evidence. Such evidence can include:
Video footage of the fall
Witness testimony and statements
Doctor’s treatment notes and assessments
Testimony from accident reconstruction experts
Contact Us
If you or a loved one has been injured in a slip and fall accident in California, don't navigate the legal complexities alone. The experienced personal injury attorneys at KAASS LAW are here to help. We offer a free, no-obligation consultation to discuss your case and explain your rights. Contact our office today to take the first step towards justice and recovery. Let us help you navigate the treacherous terrain and fight for the compensation you deserve.
The reorganization plan must include all the necessary measures deemed necessary to decrease costs and increase the income of the corporation. The measures may refer to:
Changes in ownership of shares;
Financial restructuring;
Merger and acquisitions;
Recapitalization;
Substitution of management.
What If A Reorganization Plan Isn't?
If a reorganization plan is rejected by the court, the corporation is doomed to liquidation. That said, its assets will be sold to satisfy the claims of the creditors.
Who Undertakes The Responsibility For Carrying Out A Reorganization Plan?
Pursuant to Corporation Code of California section 1400 of the trustee or trustees of a corporation appointed in the reorganization proceeding are vested the authority to exercise a reorganization plan or court orders without further consent by the corporation board or shareholders.
What Kind Of Powers Do Trustees Of A Corporation Have?
The powers of trustees, among other things, may include:
Alteration or amendment of bylaws;
Constituting or reconstituting the board;
Substituting directors and officers;
Changing capital stock;
Authorizing to issue bonds;
Electing to wind up and dissolve the corporation.
Dissolving A Corporation
If the reorganization does not succeed, or the trustees have elected to dissolve, the corporation should elect to "wind up" the corporation. As such, the trustees would file a certificate of dissolution with the Secretary of State.
What Requisites Are There For The Certificate Of Dissolution?
To start, the trustees sign and verify the certificate of dissolution when the corporation is completely up and ready. It shall state the following:
Corporation's name;
The identification of the court in which the order for relief upon entry;
Court's file number for the matter;
An order confirming a reorganization plan is entering into the case;
The undersigned has, upon appointment, by the court as a trustee;
The shares of the corporation have been canceled pursuant to the terms of the plan;
The assets of the corporation have been distributed pursuant to the terms of the plan;
The corporation is complete in dissolution.
Why Choose KAASS LAW For Bankruptcy Reorganization and Arrangements?
Navigating the complexities of bankruptcy reorganization and arrangements requires experienced legal counsel. At KAASS LAW, we offer:
Comprehensive Case Evaluation: We provide a thorough analysis of your financial situation to determine the most appropriate bankruptcy chapter and strategy.
Expert Guidance: Our knowledgeable attorneys guide you through every step of the process, ensuring you understand your rights and obligations.
Strategic Planning: We work with you to develop a tailored reorganization or repayment plan that aligns with your goals and financial realities.
Creditor Negotiation: KAASS LAW will fight tooth and nail if we have to. Our expert team knows how to settle and aim towards a resolution that is in your favor.
Court Representation: If you, the client, are in need of legal representation to appear for you in court, KAASS LAW can make that arraignment.
A Path to Financial Recovery: Our main and most important goal is to help you start a clean slate and fresh financial start or sustainable future for your business.
If you are struggling with a financial hurdle that you cannot jump across, don't deal with this problem alone. As a result, with our services, we can overcome and achieve in helping you with your overwhelming debt. Finally, contact KAASS LAW today for a confidential consultation. We are here to provide the expert legal guidance and support you need to explore your options and take the first step towards a brighter financial future. Additionally, our firm offers expert business guidance through a scheduled consultation service. For instance, we can offer and navigate any opportunity to buy out your business partner.
At the very least, any everyday car, SUVs, and small trucks fall under this category. This type of license applies to most people who need a car to take them from Point A to Point B.
Commercial Driver's Licenses (CDL)
CDLs are a little different and require more steps to get this done than Standard C driver's licenses. For those operating larger or specialized vehicles for commercial reasons, a CDL is necessary. Here are three types:
Class A: Highest class. This allows you to operate any combination of vehicles with a GVWR of 26,001 lbs. or more. Also, this includes if it provided the towed vehicle has a GVWR of over 10,000 lbs. This typically includes tractor-trailers, truck and trailer combinations, and livestock carriers.
Class B: This license permits you to operate any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 lbs. or more and any such vehicle towing another vehicle weighing 10,000 lbs. gross or less. Examples include large buses (with 16 or more occupants, including the driver), dump trucks with a GVWR over 26,001 lbs., and cement mixers.
Class C: You're allowed to operate a single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 lbs. or less. You can also tow another vehicle weighing 10,000 lbs. or less when:
Designed to transport 16 or more occupants, including the driver.
Used in the transportation of hazardous materials (requiring endorsements).
Obtaining a CDL involves more stringent requirements than a Class C license, including specialized knowledge and skills tests. The DMV offers an expanded list of different types of driver's licenses. There are other methods when it comes down to to truck and bus driver training standards.
Provisional Licenses For Young Drivers
Young adults and or teenagers learning to drive in California are typically given a provisional a CA Class C license. This comes with certain restrictions designed to gradually introduce young drivers to the responsibilities of operating a vehicle. Common restrictions are the usual following:
Driving between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. is prohibited for the first 12 months unless accompanied by a licensed parent, guardian, driving instructor, or individual 25 years of age or older.
For the first 12 months, provisional licensees cannot transport passengers under the age of 20 unless accompanied by a licensed parent, guardian, driving instructor, or individual 25 years of age or older.
These restrictions are lifted after 12 months, provided the driver has maintained a clean driving record.
Other Important License Designations
Beyond the primary classifications, there are other important designations to be aware of, restricted licenses. Furthermore, these licenses may come with specific conditions due to medical reasons, driving record issues, or the type of vehicle being operated. The restrictions will be clearly stated on the license. Additionally, another matter to be aware of is identification cards. When it comes to California residents who do not drive, the DMV offers identification cards that serve as official proof of identity.
Why This Is Important To Know!
Operating a vehicle with the incorrect class of license can lead to serious consequences, including:
Traffic citations and fines.
Vehicle impoundment.
Insurance complications.
In the events of an accident and or auto collision that lead to potential legal liabilities.
Furthermore, for commercial drivers, operating without the proper CDL and endorsements can result in significant penalties, including job loss and severe legal repercussions.
Contact Us
Understanding these various types of CA DL is knowledge worth knowing. It is a fundamental aspect of responsible driving so we may ensure safety for everyone. Possessing the correct license for the vehicle you wish to operate is more than just a legal requirement. At KAASS LAW, our goal is to increase awareness. Additionally, this is for you and everyone to know how to be better on the road and understand your surroundings to avoid any motor vehicle accidents. However, if you fall into any type of personal injury or accident, please don't hesitate to call us right away. Contact us today for a consultation to ensure you're navigating the road ahead with confidence and legal clarity.
CCPC 193.8 states that: "An adult, who is the registered owner of a motor vehicle or in possession of a motor vehicle, shall not relinquish possession of the vehicle to a minor for the purpose of driving if the following conditions exist: (1) The adult owner or person in possession of the vehicle knew or reasonably should have known that the minor was intoxicated at the time possession was relinquished. (2) A petition was sustained, or the minor was convicted of a violation of Section 23103 as specified in Section 23103.5, 23140, 23152, or 23153 of the Vehicle Code or a violation of Section 191.5 or subdivision (a) of Section 192.5. (3) The minor does not otherwise have a lawful right to possession of the vehicle."
What Are Some Possible Defenses to Negligent Entrustment?
Some possible defenses to negligent entrustment include:
that the driver did not cause the car accident in the first place; or
that the injuries sustained from the accident were not caused by the other driver.
Additionally, one can argue that the car owner was not aware that the driver (who allegedly caused the accident) was not a reasonably safe driver due to having a clean driving record and possessing a valid driver's license.
Protecting Yourself from Negligent Entrustment Claims
While you can't control the actions of every driver on the road, you can take steps to protect yourself from potential negligent entrustment claims:
Verify Driver's Licenses: Trust but verify. Always check if the person actually has a license to drive your car.
Be Aware of Driving History: It's understandable to place judgment on people for their past behavior. Yet, it is also arguably naive to assume the best in them.
Never Lend Your Car to Someone Impaired: This goes without saying, but it is worth mentioning. If they have been drinking and or not sober whatsoever, don't do it. Even if they are sober but cannot see or pay attention, don't give them the keys.
Consider Medical Conditions: Sometimes the driver is legally prescribed to something that requires them not to drive. Please confirm with them before giving them the keys.
Trust Your Gut: If you got a bad feeling about it, don't do it. Whether it may be irrational or not, don't commit to anything you're not comfortable of doing,
Insurance Coverage: Make sure your insurance got you covered before taking the risk.
Why Should You Contact KAASS LAW?
If you have been injured in an accident caused by someone driving a vehicle they were negligently entrusted with, or if you are a vehicle owner facing a negligent entrustment claim, it is crucial to seek experienced legal counsel. At KAASS LAW, our skilled attorneys can:
Investigate the Accident: Our expert team can assess, investigate, and determine who the liable, responsible parties are.
Gather Evidence: We can collect data, documents, and statements and organize scheduled interviews with witnesses if needed.
Negotiate with Insurance Companies: KAASS LAW's case managers and our litigate attorneys can fight for your case tooth and nail.
Represent You in Court: If necessary, provide strong and effective representation in court to protect your rights.
Advise Vehicle Owners: Counsel vehicle owners on how to minimize their risk of negligent entrustment claims and defend against such claims.
The concept and doctrine of negligent entrustment show a big key in the responsibility of the vehicle owner. By understanding this legal concept and taking action towards safety, both vehicle owners and those injured by negligently entrusted vehicles can navigate the complexities of California law. Contact KAASS LAW today for a consultation to discuss your specific situation and learn how we can help. Alternatively, to know more about negligence, especially gross negligence in California, KAASS LAW can offer guidance.
Negligent entrustment means that you can be liable and legally responsible if you lend your car to someone you knew or should have known potentially driving negligent and or recklessly. Usually, negligence falls under the person who caused the act. However, this will go against your negligent decision to entrust the vehicle to an unfit driver.
California Code, Penal Code - PEN § 193.8 states, "(a) An adult, who is the registered owner of a motor vehicle or in possession of a motor vehicle, shall not relinquish possession of the vehicle to a minor for the purpose of driving if the following conditions exist:
(1) The adult owner or person in possession of the vehicle knew or reasonably should have known that the minor was intoxicated at the time possession was relinquished.
(2) A petition was sustained or the minor was convicted of a violation of Section 23103 as specified in Section 23103.5, 23140, 23152, or 23153 of the Vehicle Code or a violation of Section 191.5 or subdivision (a) of Section 192.5.
(3) The minor does not otherwise have a lawful right to possession of the vehicle.
(b) The offense described in subdivision (a) shall not apply to commercial bailments, motor vehicle leases, or parking arrangements, whether or not for compensation, provided by hotels, motels, or food facilities for customers, guests, or other invitees thereof."
This is one of many forms of the act of negligence.
Factors Determining Negligent Entrustment:
Several factors are considered when determining if negligent entrustment occurred:
The Minor's Driving Record: Does the minor have a history of traffic violations or accidents, even minor ones?
The Minor's Experience and Training: Has the minor recently obtained their license and are they still under provisional restrictions? Have they completed adequate driver training?
The Minor's Character and Habits: Does the minor exhibit a pattern of recklessness, impulsivity, or disregard for rules?
Knowledge of Unsafe Conditions: Were you aware of any physical or mental conditions that might impair the minor's ability to drive safely?
Ownership and Control: While giving possession, do you retain ownership of the vehicle? The owner generally bears a greater responsibility.
Insurance Implications
Allowing a minor to drive your vehicle also has significant insurance implications. While your insurance policy may extend coverage to a licensed minor living in your household, it's crucial to:
Notify Your Insurance Company
Understand Policy Limits
Consider Increased Premiums
Review Exclusions
Strategies for Mitigating Risk
While the desire to provide your child with a vehicle is understandable, taking steps to mitigate the associated risks is paramount:
Delay Giving Full Possession: Consider allowing supervised driving for an extended period even after they obtain their license.
Establish Clear Rules and Expectations: Set firm rules regarding vehicle use, curfews, passenger restrictions, and responsible driving behavior.
Require Advanced Driver Training: Beyond the minimum requirements, consider enrolling your child in advanced driving courses that emphasize defensive driving techniques and hazard awareness.
Monitor Driving Habits: Stay informed about your child's driving behavior. Consider using tracking devices or regularly reviewing driving records.
Maintain Open Communication: Have ongoing conversations about the responsibilities and dangers of driving.
Ensure Adequate Insurance Coverage: Review your insurance policy and consider increasing coverage limits.
When Legal Guidance is Necessary
Situations involving minors and vehicle possession can become legally complex, especially in the event of an accident. It's crucial to seek legal guidance from KAASS LAW if:
Your minor child has been involved in an accident while driving a vehicle you own or have given them possession of.
You are facing liability claims due to your minor child's driving.
You have questions about the legal implications of giving a vehicle to a minor in California.
You need assistance understanding your insurance coverage in such situations.
Contact Us
At KAASS LAW, we're here for you and your family. We understand why you want to help your child and give them their freedom as their growing up. However, this small things can lead to bigger problem if there aren't any proper supervision of the minor. If facing these types of legal problems, contact us right away.
A prescriptive easement can be granted when one person continued to use a portion of another person’s land for a specific period of time. A court can grant a prescriptive easement even if the owner never allowed others to use their land.
Scope of the Easement
Scope of the easement refers to how the easement can be used which is determined by the type of easement.
The scope of express easements limits to the terms of the easement.
The scope of an implied easement limits land use to how the owner used it before creating the easement.
An easement by necessity limits its scope by the degree of necessity.
The scope of a prescriptive easement typically limits the land's use to how the owner originally used it.
Real Estate Attorney
For more information regarding easements, land use, property rights, and or development laws, we invite you to contact KAASS LAW today at (310) 943-1171.
Terminating an Easement in California
In California, various circumstances can lead to the termination of an easement, depending on its type and how the parties have used or managed it over time. Factors such as expiration of a set term, abandonment, misuse, or a written release from the easement holder can all bring an easement to an end. 1. Expiration of term or accomplishment of purpose. An easement terminates when the parties establish it for a specific term and that term expires. Once the agreed-upon time period ends, the easement holder no longer has any legal right to use the property under the original agreement. 2. Merger. If the dominant and burdened parcels become the property of the same person, the easement generally terminates. 3. Written abandonment. The holder of an easement may waive his or her right by signing a written waiver. To ensure enforceability, the property owner must usually record the waiver in the official land records maintained by the county recorder’s office. This step creates a public record of the waiver and provides notice to any future buyers, lenders, or interested parties. 4. Termination. An easement terminates when the owner takes clear actions that demonstrate an intent to abandon its use. Mere non-use does not qualify; the owner must engage in conduct that shows a decisive and purposeful relinquishment of the easement rights. 5. Abuse or Excess of Rights. If one party abuses the easement, the court can step in to either modify its terms or terminate it entirely. The court takes such action when the easement holder exceeds the scope of their legal rights or uses the easement in a way that unfairly burdens the property owner.
Disputes and Proceedings to Establish Title
If a dispute arises over the existence or scope of an easement, the parties may file a quiet title action. This action allows the court to formally determine the parties' rights to the property. This includes the existence, absence, or termination of an easement.
Easement Legal Assistance
The proper creation, protection, and termination of easements requires knowledge of California real estate law. Mistakes in these matters can result in loss of property and costly litigation. If you have questions regarding easements, contact KAASS LAW. Call us at 844-522-7752 for a free consultation.
One type is a simultaneous exchange when a 1031 exchange happens on the same day. This type of exchange can take place in two separate ways:
The first way is where a person swaps deeds with the owner of the other investment property
The second way is a three-party exchange. This occurs when the transaction between a person and the owner of the other investment property is enabled by a third party called a Qualified Intermediary, who handles the entire exchange.
Delayed Exchange: 1031 Exchange
The most common type of 1031 exchange is called a delayed exchange. 1031 Exchange occurs when a person sells a property, receives the money, and buys the property after a delay, which could be from one day to several months before getting the replacement property. A person has 45 days to identify a new property and 180 days to close the transaction In the event, a property investor fails to buy a replacement property within the time limits, the property investor will have to pay capital gains on the proceeds from the property sale.
Improvement or Construction Exchange
This is a type of exchange that allows the person to make improvements to the property before the actual exchange happens. In this case, the property is placed with a capable intermediary for 180 days and within this period a person can use the exchange equity to make the required improvements. However, there are three separate requirements that you must meet But in case a person wants all gains to be free from taxes he must follow these rules:
all exchange equity must be spent as a down payment or by making construction and improvements to the property within 180 days.
The taxpayer must get the same property that was identified on the 45th day
The property must be at an equal or greater value once it is given back to the taxpayer
Reverse Exchange
This type of exchange allows the person to find and purchase an investment property before selling his own investment property. This helps the person to wait to sell his property until the market value of the property increases. In this case, the transaction mainly occurs with 100 percent cash. A person has 45 days to determine which one of his investment properties will be relinquished and after that he 135 days to complete the sale. For more information regarding 1031 exchange or investment proeprties we invite you to contact our real estate attorney at (310) 943-1171 today.
Cultivating up to 6 marijuana plants (Health and Safety Code Section 11358)
Before Proposition 64: Felony
After Proposition 64: Legal for ages 21 years and older
Cultivating more than 6 marijuana plans (Health and Safety Code Section 11358)
Before Proposition 64: Felony
After Proposition 64: Misdemeanor
Possession of marijuana for sale without a license (Health and Safety Code Section 11359)
Before Proposition 64: Felony
After Proposition 64: Misdemeanor if 1st and 2nd offense
Sale and transportation of marijuana without a license (Health and Safety Code Section 11360)
Before Proposition 64: Felony
After Proposition 64: misdemeanor if 1st or 2nd offense
Can You Apply for Resentencing After Passing Proposition 64?
Individuals convicted prior to the passing of Proposition 64 may apply for resentencing. Resentencing under Proposition 64 may lead to an immediate release from jail. However, this may be contigent on how much time you have served.
How Do You Apply for Proposition 64 Resentencing?
An individual can make an application to the court to have their sentence reduced. This is true for individuals who are currently serving time related to marijuana crimes they were convicted of before the passing of Proposition 64. Typically, judges presume that individuals applying for such a request have met the criteria for Proposition 64 resentencing. However, this may not be the case should the prosecutor oppose the petition by proving clear and convincing evidence that the individual does not meet the criteria for resentencing. However, judges are supposed to resent individuals so long as the individual does not pose an unreasonable risk of danger to public safety.
Los Angeles Criminal Defense Attorney
Are you in need of legal advice or services from an attorney? We invite you to contact our Los Angeles criminal defense attorney at (310) 943-1171 for assistance. KAASS Law is always standing by and ready to provide legal assistance.